Cork hurlers Horgan and Cadogan included in All-Star nominations

Cork hurlers Horgan and Cadogan included in All-Star nominations

Patrick Horgan in action for the Glen. Picture: Larry Cummins.

PATRICK Horgan and Alan Cadogan are the only two Cork hurlers to make the short-list of 45 for this year's PwC All-Stars.

Horgan is also included as one of the candidates for Hurler of the Year, alongside Kilkenny's TJ Reid and Tipperary's Seamus Callanan, who is the favourite for the top prize. 

Cadogan has never collected an All-Star and despite his impressive form on his return from injury this summer is unlikely to make the final selection on this occasion either. Horgan is a certainty up front, in what will be his fourth All-Star and third in succession.

All-Ireland champions Tipp received 11 nominations and runners-up Kilkenny got nine.

Leinster champions Wexford have been honoured with eight while Laois’ Joe McDonagh Cup-winning season is acknowledged with two nominations as goalkeeper Enda Rowland and defender Jack Kelly make the cut after a campaign that also included a championship win over provincial rivals Dublin.

In all, eight counties make the cut with two awards each also for Cork, Dublin and Galway to round off the list.

In a 12-month period of major change at the top, only six of last year’s All-Star winning players make this year’s nominations list. 

Those six are Eoin Murphy, Seán Finn, Graeme Mulcahy, Horgan, Cian Lynch and Richie English.

Also announced today were the three nominees for the Young Player of the Year Awards with Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny), Kyle Hayes (Limerick) and Rory O’Connor (Wexford) the three selected.

In recent seasons Cork hurlers Seamus Harnedy, Darragh Fitzgibbon and Mark Coleman collected All-Stars.

More in this section

Sponsored Content