Cork basketball special: U14 boys and girls development squads selected

Cork basketball special: U14 boys and girls development squads selected
The highly experienced basketball coach Paul Kelleher is coaching the South U14 Boys development squad. Picture: INPHO/Oisin Keniry

A TOTAL of 71 players have been included in the Basketball Ireland U14 Regional Academies covering the Cork area.

The South squads, which take in Cork, Tipperary and Waterford, feature 36 boys and 35 girls.

Over 650 players took part in the Talent Identification nationally sessions, with the country divided up into seven regions, expanded from last season to cast the net as wide as possible.

Coach Francis O'Sullivan. Picture: Eddie O'Hare
Coach Francis O'Sullivan. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Ballincollig’s Francis O’Sullivan, assisted by Trisha Bamber, is in charge of the U14 Girls South, while Neptune’s Paul Kelleher, who this summer was at the helm of the Irish U18 squad, is looking after the U14 Boys South with Brian O’Neill assisting.

Former Demons ace and current Killorglin player-coach Colin O’Reilly is the head of the boys U14 academy nationally, with Martin McGettrick overseeing the girls section.


Ballincollig: Alex Bevan, Tadhg Murphy.

Bantry: Charlie Curran, Stephen O’Donovan.

Blue Demons: David Carmody, Andrew Maume, Evan Wyse, Simonas Bruzas, Theo De Souza

Carrigaline: Isaac Horan, Ciaran McCarthy-Duffy, Oisin O’Hanlon, Ryan Kenneally.

Fr Mathew’s: Colm Kennelly, Colm Horan, Fionn Barry, Joe Moran.

Mallow: Conor O’Sullivan, Donagh Merritt, Wesley Delany.

Neptune: Cian Thompson, Dylan O’Rourke, Justin Raheem, Luke Walsh, Timothy Tamosiunas, Tyrese Sonowo.

Skibbereen Eagles: Finn Brickley.

St Anthony’s: Conor Yelland, Darragh Manning, Adam Sheehy, Seán Denn.

St Bridget’s Currow: Luke Toomy, Luke Winkle.

Waterford Vikings: Luke Dunphy, Alistair Ranin.

Youghal: Fionn O’Riordan.


Ballincollig: Ava Moynihan, Keelan Moynihan.

Bantry: Cliodhna O’Shea, Clodagh Downey, Maggie Conlon, Ruby O’Sullivan.

Brunell: Kaci Collins, Laura Hannigan, Lucy O’Leary, Mia Lynch, Niamh Cullinane.

Carraig na bhFear: Kelley Goulding.

Cobh: Lucy O’Shea, Sara Rose Walsh.

Crosshaven: Alex Fagan, Lauren O’Connor.

Donoughmore: Ella O’Sullivan.

Fr Mathew’s: Aishling Coakley, Ava Walsh, Bolu Ugwah, Ellen Price, Emmanuela Amayo, Grace Maher, Katie Anthony, Lucie Healy, Rachel Bowdren

Glanmire: Allie McCarthy, Chloe O’Drsicoll, Roisin Murphy.

Mallow: Aishling Whalley, Ava O’Mahoney, Eabha Nagle, Emma Taylor, Sophie Whelan.

Midleton: Katie Tarrant.

More in this section

Sponsored Content