Goals secured Premier 2 U16 hurling title for Valley Rovers against Blarney

Goals secured Premier 2 U16 hurling title for Valley Rovers against Blarney

Valley Rovers 2-11 Blarney 0-14

GOALS either side of half-time were the key scores as Valley Rovers got the better of Blarney in the Carrigaline Court Hotel U16 Premier 2 Hurling final at Páirc Uí Rinn.

In a tight game, goals from Evan O’Shea and Ciaran McCarthy were crucial, with the one by the latter putting them in front, a lead they never lost again.

They were well served by the likes of Jonathan Kenneally, Evan O’Shea, and Jonathan Murphy, who also captained the side.

Blarney can’t be faulted for their efforts, with the likes of Eoghan Kirby, Denis McSweeney and Sam O’Sullivan the pick of their side.

Blarney got off to the better start, through two early points from Kirby, with Ciaran McCarthy also on target.

Adam Murphy got Valleys off the mark, with McCarthy getting their second before the former had the sides level.

Kirby and Ciaran Sexton put Blarney back in front, with Kenneally replying for Valleys. Two more from Kirby saw Blarney 0-9 to 0-5 in front, but a goal from O’Shea just before half time made it 1-5 to 0-9.

Their second goal, from McCarthy six minutes into the second half, made it 2-6 to 0-9 and he added another point to stretch their lead further.

It took Blarney 16 minutes to get their first score of the second half, when Cathal McCarthy pointed, his goal-bound effort brilliantly tipped over the bar by Valleys keeper, Aaron White.

Kirby added two from frees, the likes of Kenneally kept the scoreboard ticking over at the other end.

Two more from Kirby made it a two-point game, 0-13 to 2-9, with five minutes to go.

But a pointed free from O’Shea and another long distance free from Ciaran McCarthy secured the win for the Innishannon side.

Scorers for Valley Rovers: C McCarthy 1-3 (0-2 f), E O’Shea 1-2 (0-1 f), J Kenneally 0-3, A Murphy 0-2, P Bernard 0-1.

Blarney: E Kirby 0-9 f, C Barrett 0-2, D Murphy, C Sexton, C McCarthy 0-1 each.

VALLEY ROVERS: A White; D O’Driscoll, J Murphy, C Cremin; C Johnson, C Brady, S Egan; J O’Driscoll, C McCarthy; P Bernard, J Kenneally, J O’Leary; E O’Shea, A Murphy, C Calnan.

BLARNEY: E O’Neill; S O’Sullivan, D Murphy, G McGee; C Sewell, D Lordan, T Buckley; D McSweeney, D Murphy; C Barrett, C Walsh, C McCarthy; J Murphy, C Sexton, E Kirby.

Sub: J Dwyer for C Walsh.

Referee: Damian Taaffe, Passage.

More in this section

Sponsored Content