Skibb suffer tough loss to St Flannan's as goals pile up in Corn Uí Mhuirí 

Skibb suffer tough loss to St Flannan's as goals pile up in Corn Uí Mhuirí 
Action from the Rochestown and Skibbereen Corn Uí Mhuirí match earlier this month. Picture: Larry Cummins

St Flannan’s College Ennis 11-14 Skibbereen Community School 4-7

IT was a tough afternoon for a young Skibbereen CS in Mallow at the hands of St Flannan’s College who claimed the last remaining place in the Corn Uí Mhuirí.

It was winner takes all in this three-team Group C, and St Flannan’s amazing goal-scoring spree left them runners-up to St Francis College Rochestown.

To be fair to the west Cork side, 4-7 would win most matches, but they had no answer to a far more experienced St Flannan’s in what is a great achievement for the Ennis school as they have also qualified for the knockout stage of the Dr Harty Cup.

With a number of dual players, they have a lot to look forward to.

Mark McInerney and Killian O’Connor both bagged hat-tricks while Diarmuid Cahill notched 4-6 and Eoghan Talty raised a green flag as well.

It was 1-4 to 1-2 after quarter of an hour, but St Flannan’s piled on the scores to lead 4-9 to 1-4 at the interval.

St Flannan’s added three quickfire goals after the restart before Robbie Minihane’s scored his second goal from the penalty spot for Skibbereen.

Niall Daly and Luke Connolly added goals for Skibbereen.

However, there was no let up from St Flannan’s.

Scorers for St Flannan’s: D Cahill 4-6, M McInerney 3-4 (0-2 f), K O’Connor 3-0, E Talty 1-0, C Galvin, C Hegarty, J Collins and M Reidy 0-1 each.

Skibbereen CS: R Minihane 2-0 pen, M Sheehy 0-4 (0-2 f), L Connolly and N Daly 1-0 each, D Daly 0-2 (0-1 f), A O’Driscoll 0-1.

St FLANNAN’S: N O’Donohue (Éire Óg); D Cunningham (Clooney Quin), G D’Auria (Éire Óg), G Hanrahan (Corofin); C Reidy (Clondegad), M Reidy (Shannon Gaels), J Collins (Éire Óg); O O’Donnell (Crusheen), N Walsh (The Banner); D Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), D Cahill (Corofin), C Hegarty (Ennistymon); C Galvin (Clarecastle), K O’Connor (Corofin), M McInerney (Éire Óg).

Subs: C Kearney (Ennistymon) for M McInerney, E Talty (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield) for D Nagle, E Guilfoyle (Clooney Quin) for C Hegarty, D Healy (Clarecastle) for G D’Auria (all 34), D O’Callaghan (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield) for G Hanrahan (39), B Longe (Ballyea) for J Collins (44).

SKIBB: R Courtney (Castlehaven); T Keating (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), A O’Regan (O’Donovan Rossa), S Bohane (Castlehaven); A O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), O Lucey (O’Donovan Rossa), T O’Mahony (Castlehaven); R Minihane (Castlehaven), D Daly (O’Donovan Rossa); C Hegarty (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), G Foley (Castlehaven), D Murray (Tadhg MacCarthaigh); L Connolly (O’Donovan Rossa), M Sheehy (I Rovers), J Murphy (Clann na nGael).

Subs: N Daly (Ilen Rovers) for D Murray (29), E Daly (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for J Murphy (42), L O’Mahony (Castlehaven) for C Hegarty (46), S Carey (Ilen Rovers) for T Keating (47).

Referee: Donnacha O’Callaghan (Limerick).

More in this section

Sponsored Content