Cork club draws: Groups revealed for new hurling and football competitions

Cork club draws: Groups revealed for new hurling and football competitions
Christopher Joyce, Na Piarsaigh, battling Patrick Horgan, Glen Rovers, in 2017. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

THE draws for the revamped Cork hurling and football championships have thrown up a host of potentially classic clashes.

Streamlined tiers with groups of four have been introduced to the club game on Leeside in 2020 and Glen Rovers, St Finbarr's and Na Piarsaigh have been pitted together, along with Carrigtwohill, in the top level of hurling, while west Cork rivals Castlehaven, Carbery Rangers, Newcewstown and Ilen will also square off.

Midleton, Douglas and Sars are in Group 1 of the Premier Senior Hurling, along with Ballyhea, while Douglas and Nemo will collide in the football, alongside Bishopstown and Valleys.

The best teams will progress to the knockout stages while the bottom side in each group enters the relegation series.

The colleges and divisions, which include four-in-a-row chasing Imokilly, must playoff before joining the preliminary quarter-final section.

There's no shortage of crackers in the other tiers of hurling and football too, including Killeagh against Cloyne and Éire Óg versus Bantry, a repeat of this season's PIFC semi-final belter.

Four of the big towns of Cork county are in a section in Senior A hurling: Bandon, Charleville, Mallow and Fermoy.

Newly-promoted Fr O'Neill's won't have it easy, against Ballymartle and Bride Rovers, who are down from the old senior competition, and Kilworth, who they beat in the PIHC final recently.

In the Premier Intermediate football ranks Naomh Abán and Cill na Martra will meet St Vincent's and intermediate champions Knocknagree.


PREMIER SENIOR: Group 1: Midleton, Sars, Douglas, Ballyhea; Group 2: Blackrock, Erin's Own, Bishopstown, Newtownshandrum; Group 3: Glen Rovers, St Finbarr’s, Na Piarsaigh, Carrigtwohill.

Carbery Rangers' John Hayse edges in front of Castlehaven's Jamie Walsh. Picture: Anne Marie Cronin
Carbery Rangers' John Hayse edges in front of Castlehaven's Jamie Walsh. Picture: Anne Marie Cronin

SENIOR A: Group 1: Newcestown, Killeagh, Kanturk, Cloyne; Group 2: Bandon, Charleville, Mallow, Fermoy; Group 3: Ballymartle, Bride Rovers, Fr O’Neill's, Kilworth.

PREMIER INTERMEDIATE: Group 1: Courceys, Carrigaline, Aghada, Youghal; Group 2: Valleys, Ballinhassig, Watergrasshill, Ballincollig; Group 3: Inniscarra, Blarney, Castlelyons, Blackrock.

INTERMEDIATE: Group 1: Kildorrery, Mayfield, Argideen, Dungourney; Group 2: Éire Óg, Sars, Meelin, Douglas; Group 3: Cloughduv, Aghabullogue, Glen, Midleton.

LOWER INTERMEDIATE: Group 1: Ballygarvan, Barryroe, Russell Rovers, Kilbrittain; Group 2: Castlemartyr, Barrs, Ballymartle, Milford; Group 3: Tracton, St Catherine's, Grenagh, Dripsey.


PREMIER SENIOR: Group 1: St Finbarr’s, Ballincollig, Clonakilty, Carrigaline; Group 2: Carbery Rangers, Castlehaven, Newcestown, Ilen Rovers; Group 3: Nemo Rangers, Valley Rovers, Douglas, Bishopstown.

SENIOR A: Group 1: O’Donovan Rossa, St Nicks, St Michael’s, Ballingeary; Group 2: Kiskeam, Mallow, Éire Óg, Bantry; Group 3: Dohenys, Fermoy, Clyda, Bandon.

PREMIER INTERMEDIATE: Group 1: Newmarket, Na Piarsaigh, Castletownbere, Aghada; Group 2: Naomh Abán, Cill na Martra, St Vincent’s, Knocknagree; Group 3: Macroom, Kanturk, Nemo Rangers, Gabriels.

INTERMEDIATE: Group 1: Millstreet, Barrs, Grenville, Ballinora; Group 2: Rockchapel, Dromtarriffe, Ballydesmond, Kinsale; Group 3: Mitchelstown, Glanworth, Mayfield, Adrigole; Group 4: Aghabullogue, Kildorrery, Glanmire, Kilshannig.

More in this section

Sponsored Content