Draws to take place for revamped Cork hurling and football championships

Draws to take place for revamped Cork hurling and football championships
Gavin Morrissey, Ballyhea, battles Paul Barden, Carrigtwohill. Both clubs will be in the new top tier of club hurling in Cork. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

THE draws for the Cork County Championships for 2020 will be made on November 19 at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The senior hurling and football championships have a new format for next season, with two groups containing 12 teams each.

The seedings for both codes will be announced closer to the draw date. In the top code, there will be three groups of four teams in both hurling and football with the best three teams in each group progressing to the play-offs.

They will be joined by one team from the Divisions/Colleges section which will bring the number up to 10.

The top two in each group will enter the quarter-finals and they will be joined by the best and second-best teams who will play-off for one of the remaining two quarter-final places.

The third best-placed team play the winners of the Division/Colleges section for the final place.

The bottom team in each of the three groups will play off in a round-robin format to determine which one will be relegated.

The Divisions/Colleges section of both the SHC and SFC will play their competition as before with one team gaining entry to the championship proper at the quarter-final stage.

Meanwhile, it was revealed at the County Board delegates meeting that Tom O’Brien from Carrigtwohill and Ger Geary from Killeagh have been added to Donal Óg Cusack’s Cork minor hurling backroom team.

It was also revealed at the meeting that All-Ireland winning football managers, Bobbie O’Dwyer and Keith Ricken will continue in their roles for 2020.

Ricken’s backroom team will consist of Mícheál Ó Cróinín, Colm O’Neill, Maurice Moore and Barry Corkery, the latter a native of Éire Óg, who will also be in the camogie set-up.

O’Dwyer will be assisted by Mick Hannon, Ollie O’Sullivan, Billy O’Connor and James Masters.

Meanwhile, all six counties in Munster have indicated their interest in taking part in both the Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League and McGrath Cup Football competition.

The draws will take place on Monday night.

Fixtures will be confirmed in due course with both finals scheduled for the weekend of January 11-12.

More in this section

Sponsored Content