Harty Cup heartache for the AG and Hammies hurlers but three Cork schools make the last eight

Harty Cup heartache for the AG and Hammies hurlers but three Cork schools make the last eight
Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG-An Mhainistir Thuaidh's Ronán Ó Murchú wins possession from Dara Nagle of St. Flannan's College in the Dr. Harty Cup game at Cappamore. Picture: Denis Minihane.

St Flannan’s College Ennis 0-13 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG - An Mhainistir Thuaidh 1-9

Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG - An Mhainistir Thuaidh put in a battling performance but just came up short against St Flannan’s in the third round of the Dr Harty Cup in Cappamore.

It was 14-man St Flannan’s College who go through to the quarter-final along with De La Salle College, Waterford in this Group B.

Midleton CBS, Christians and St Colman’s have progressed to the last eight, but the AG have missed out along with Rochestown College and Hammies. 

That means the last eight are the three Cork schools, St Flannan's and St Joseph's, Tulla, from Clare, Waterford's De La Salle and Tipp teams Thurles CBS and Our Lady's Templemore.

Conditions were extremely testing, however when St Flannan’s midfielder Jarlath Collins received a straight red card in the 18th minute following an altercation, it didn’t look good for the Ennis school. But they grafted and dug out the one-point win.

Over half of the St Flannan’s starting 15 were on the Clare minor team this year, and it told. They also struck three times as many wides as the Cork team. The scoreboard read 0-3 each after 25 minutes but a scoring surge in stoppage time from Peter Power, Oisin O’Donnell and Hegarty pushed St Flannan’s 0-6 to 0-3 ahead at the interval.

And they started the second half with a Power white flag. Points from Dylan Ó Longáin (2) and Lucás Ó hArgáin reduced the deficit to one before Galvin converted a free, 0-9 to 0-7.

In the 52nd minute, a delivery from Nathan Ó Gabhláin went all the way to the St Flannan’s net. Crucially, the Clare team replied with a trio of points.

Ó hArgáin narrowed the gap once again but in injury time, Galvin notched his fourth free.

Michael Ó Maoláin landed a 65 but St Flannan’s held out.

Scorers for St Flannan’s College: C Galvin 0-4 f, O O’Donnell 0-3, C Hegarty, P Power 0-2 each, D Nagle and J Doherty 0-1 each.

AG: D Ó Longáin 0-5 (0-4 f, 0-1 65), N Ó Gabhláin 1-1, L Ó hArgáin 0-2, M Ó Maoláin 0-1 65.

St FLANNAN’S: C Broderick (Clarecastle); B Longe (Ballyea), D Healy (Clarecastle), E Guilfoyle (Clooney Quin); N Walsh (The Banner), C Galvin (Clarecastle), J Lyons (Ruan); C Hegarty (Inagh Kilnamona), J Collins (Éire Óg, Ennis); K O’Connor (Corofin), O O’Donnell (Crusheen), A Brohan (Ruan); D Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), D Cahill (Corofin), P Power (Newmakret-on-Fergus).

Subs: J Doherty (Clarecastle) for D Nagle (39), D Cunningham (Clooney Quin) for P Power (56), N Glynn (Inagh Kilnamona) for O O’Donnell (57).

AG: C Hourigan (Glen Rovers); S Bairéid (do), C Ó Siocháin (Na Piarsaigh), L Quilligan (Glen Rovers); S Ó Mathúna (Na Piarsaigh), A Ó Lordáin (Glen Rovers), D Ó Cochláin (do); R Ó Murchú (Whitechurch), M Ó Maoláin (do); D Ó Murchú (Glen Rovers), L Ó hArgáin (do), D Ó Longáin (do); M Ó Rinn (do), C Ó Muineacháin (Na Piarsaigh), N Ó Gabhláin (Glen Rovers).

Referee: Eamonn Stapleton (Limerick).

More in this section

Sponsored Content