RTÉ Sport award for Cork athletics legend Sonia O'Sullivan

RTÉ Sport award for Cork athletics legend Sonia O'Sullivan
Sonia O'Sullivan at the 2019 RTE Sports awards. Picture: INPHO/Oisin Keniry

ATHLETIC superstar Sonia O'Sullivan was unveiled as the RTÉ Sport Hall of Fame Award winner at this year's RTE Sport Awards.

The Olympic 5,000m silver-medallist and former World 5,000m champion from Cobh turned 50 recently and is one of the country's greatest ever sportspeople. 

Sonia's series of achievements in an Irish singlet during an incredible career remained unmatched.

Picture: INPHO/Billy Stickland
Picture: INPHO/Billy Stickland

Golfer Shane Lowry was picked as the RTÉ Sport Sportsperson of the Year for 2019, pipping, among others, Cork soccer ace Denise O'Sullivan and Ballincollig-based rower Sanita Puspure. 

Sanita Puspure with her gold medal. Picture: Andreas Pranter/Gepa Pictures/Sportsfile
Sanita Puspure with her gold medal. Picture: Andreas Pranter/Gepa Pictures/Sportsfile

Lowry claimed his first major title in commanding fashion in the 148th Open at Royal Portrush this summer. The Clara man battled miserable conditions to become the fifth Irish player to lift the Claret Jug. 

He also won his first tournament in three and a half years with victory in the Abu Dhabi Championship.

Former Dublin Football Jim Gavin was named RTÉ Sport Manager of the Year for overseeing an unprecedented five-in-a-row All-Ireland titles and in doing so taking his place in GAA history.

Gavin’s former charges Dublin made history in September when winning that fifth All-Ireland title in-a-row. After two epic final encounters with rivals Kerry, the Dubs have now taken their place as one of the greatest teams ever and tonight were named RTÉ Sport Team of the Year.

Rhys McClenaghan created history this year as he became the first Irish gymnast to medal at the World Championships, claiming a bronze medal in the pommel horse. He also booked a place at the 2020 Olympic Games by qualifying for the final earlier in the week and was named RTÉ Sport Young Sportsperson of the Year for the second year running.

The RTÉ Sport Awards were presented by RTÉ’s Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell, and also featured a host of well-known Irish sports stars and analysts reflecting on the Irish sporting year that was.

There were two Leesiders on the judging panel, Mary O'Connor, the former Cork dual ace from Killeagh and CEO of the Federation of Irish Sport and The Sunday Times' Denis Walsh, who is heavily involved in his local club Carrigtwohill.

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more