John Horgan breaks down Christians' Harty Cup victory over Midleton CBS

John Horgan breaks down Christians' Harty Cup victory over Midleton CBS
Eoghan Kirby and Jack Cahalane, battling Sam Quirke and John Millerick, Midleton CBS. Picture: Jim Coughlan

CBC 2-11 Midleton CBS 0-16

A DAY of redemption last Saturday at Pairc Ui Rinn as CBC compensated fully for their defeat in last season’s Dr Harty Cup final at the hands of Midleton CBS.

This semi-final never reached great heights but it was compelling, nonetheless, particularly in the final quarter as both sides fought with great endeavour to try and secure the final place against the most successful school in the competition, St Flannan’s from Ennis.

CBC just about deserved their victory, they were strong and assertive in defence and on a day when goals made all the difference, they had two on the board at the final whistle with Midleton CBS failing to raise a green flag.

CBC too had the hugely influential Jack Cahalane making a vast contribution in the scoring stakes and proving a right handful for the reigning champions.

Both sides were guilty of some very poor shooting over the hour, Midleton CBS particularly so in the second-half when they were wide of the target 11 times.

Shane Kingston, CBC Cork, gets away from Eoghan Martin and Jack McGann, Midleton CBS. Picture: Jim Coughlan
Shane Kingston, CBC Cork, gets away from Eoghan Martin and Jack McGann, Midleton CBS. Picture: Jim Coughlan

Some of those wides were from the placed ball but CBC held their nerve in the final, frenetic minutes to get back into the final.

Besides Cahalane,Daire Burke posted an important 1-1 for CBC who led at the interval by four points after Burke had delivered the goal following good work by James Dwyer and Eoghan Kirby.

Noel Cahill, who replaced the injured Iassc Walsh at the outset, was prominent for Midleton CBS with a pair of fine points while James Mulcahy, John Millerick and James Mulcahy also registered points while Midleton ‘keeper Brian Saunderson saved superbly from CBC’s Kirby after 10 minutes.

It was 1-8 to 0-7 going in at the interval with CBC full value for that advantage.

Sean Walsh and Jack McGann reduced the deficit for Midleton CBS on the resumption but Cahalane responded to those scores with two more from his own tally.

Cahill notched his third point for Midleton and when McGann got his second point after 49 minutes, it was down to the bare minimum.

Then Midleton got their noses in front following two more points from Walsh and Cathal Hickey.

It was a right battle for supremacy now with Hickey pushing Midleton two points clear as the clock counted down.

But then arrived the game’s defining score, that young man Cahalane stepping up to the plate again, bursting through the Midleton CBS defence to hammer home his team’s second goal.

The pendulum had swung back in CBC’s direction again and Midleton CBS subsequently missed a free to tie it all up and almost certainly bring the game to extra-time.

But it wasn’t to be and CBC were back in the final.

Cathrach Daly, Eoin Downey and Shane Kingston defended resolutely for them when it mattered and they were that bit better with their final delivery This was another big scalp for the school better renowned for its rugby exploits and they won’t be short on confidence going in against St Flannan’s.

Maybe the old adage, you have to lose one to win one will apply in that final .

Scorers for CBC Cork: Jack Cahalane 1-8 (0-5 f, 0-1 65), Daire Burke 1-1, Eoghan Kirby, Robbie Cotter 0-1 each.

Midleton CBS: Sean Walsh 0-5 (0-4 f), Cathal Hickey, Noel Cahill 0-3 each, James Mulcahy, Jack McGann 0-2 each, John Millerick 0-1.

CBC: E O’Neill (Blarney); G Reddy (Midleton), S Kingston (Ballinora), E Downey (Glen Rovers); P Cummins (St Colman’s), C Daly (Lismore), G Mulcahy (Glen Rovers); J Dwyer (Ballincollig), E Kidney (Cobh); E Kirby (Blarney), N Hartnett (Douglas, Capt), E O’Leary (Glen Rovers); R Cotter (Blackrock), J Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), D Burke (Douglas).

Sub : D Cremin for Kidney (52).

MIDLETON CBS : B Saunderson (Midleton); J Fitzgerald (Midleton), J Millerick (Fr O’Neill’s), R Landers (Killeagh); A Quirke (Midleton), C Joyce (Kiltha Óg), E Motherway (St Colman’s); R McCarthy (Killeagh), S Quirke (Midleton, Capt); S Walsh (Carrigtwohill), C Hickey (Lisgoold), J Mulcahy (Carrigtwohill), N Cahill (St Colman’s), J McGann (Kiltha Óg), E Martin (Kiltha Óg).

Subs: I Walsh (Lisgoold) for E Martin (37), J Oke (Carrigtwohill) for S Quirke (60).

Referee: Kevin Jordan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content