Cork camogie: Your guide to the league rankings for every club in 2020

Cork camogie: Your guide to the league rankings for every club in 2020
Glen Rovers' Denise Luby wins the ball from Ballincollig's Sarah Keating during the Cork senior camogie championship last year. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

THE grading of clubs and draws for the adult and minor leagues have been made.

There’s a starting date of the first week in April for the adult leagues so teams are busy with preseason preparations and are hopeful the pitch conditions will improve soon to allow time to ready for throw-in.

The following are the groups and grading of clubs from senior down to junior.


There are 14 teams in the senior league and there are two sections of seven, Games commences at the start of April and are scheduled for every Friday. Section A has Ballygarvan, St Finbarr’s, Milford, St Catherine’s, Glen Rovers, Éire Óg and Killeagh.

In Section B holders Inniscarra are joined by county champions Sarsfields, Cloughduv, Douglas, Ballincollig, Courcey rovers and Newcestown, who make a return to the senior grade following their victory in last season’s Intermediate championship.

Sarsfields' Emer Fennell hammers home a goal against Inniscarra. Picture: Eddie O'Hare
Sarsfields' Emer Fennell hammers home a goal against Inniscarra. Picture: Eddie O'Hare


Twelve teams will battle it out for this league title and here there are two sections of six: In Section A, it’s Carrigaline, Na Piarsaigh, Aghabullogue, Fr O’Neill’s, Enniskeane and Clonakilty.

In Section B, it’s Kilbrittain/Timoleague, Valley Rovers, Blackrock, Watergrashill, Brian Dillon’s and last year’s junior county champions Ballyhea.


There will be five junior grades and players of all abilities are well catered for with junior A, B and C, junior 13-a-side and a junior competition for clubs who are fielding second adult teams and want to compete on the same level as other clubs with second teams.

Junior A: Twelve team in the Junior A league and there are two sections of six teams.

Section A has Tracton, Mallow, Sliabh Rua, St Vincent’s, Newtownshandrum, and Ballinascarthy. In Section B it’s Ballinora, Sarsfields 2, Banteer, Charleville Ballinhassig and Barryroe who have both re-graded this season to junior A.

Junior B: In junior B there are nine clubs and these have made the decision to go with just one section where they will play a total of eight games participating clubs are Youghal, Inniscarra 2, Millstreet, Bride Rovers, Castlelyons, Ballincollig 2, Blarney, Cobh and Bishopstown who have regraded this year from A level.

Junior C: The Junior C league has 13 teams and these are divided into two sections one of seven and one of six. Section A is: Aghada, Kilbree, Na Piarsaigh 2, Kilworth, St Colum’s, Castlemartyr, and Inniscarra 3.

Section B has Grenagh, Buttevant, Midleton, Kinsale, Castlelyons 2 and St Fanahan’s.

Junior C 13-a-side: For clubs who may not be in a position to field a full 15, there is a 13-a-side competition and here there are six teams in one section.

The six participating teams are: Erin’s Own, Rockbán, St Vincent’s 2, Dungourney, Brian Dillon’s 2 and Nemo Rangers.

Junior second teams: Nine clubs took the option to participate in the league for second adult clubs this was a huge success last season and there are two sections one of five and one of four teams. Section A is Cloughduv, Glen Rovers, Kilbrittain Timoleague, St Catherine’s, St Finbarrs. Section B is Éire Óg, Barryroe, Douglas and Enniskeane.


Minor A: In Minor A there are eight teams with two sections. Section A: Inniscarra, Ballinora, Éire Óg and Sarsfields. In section B it’s Newcestown, Aghabullogue, Aghada and St Finbarr’s.

Minor B: There are 20 teams in four sections of five. In section A we have St Catherine’s, Ballyhea/Milford, Kilbrittain/Timoleague Killeagh, Mallow. Section B: Fr O’Neill’s, Ballygarvan, Courcey Rovers, Cloughduv and Buttevant.

Sections C: Glen Rovers, Ballincollig, Na Piarsaigh, Blackrock, Enniskeane. Section D has Douglas, Ballinhassig, Charleville, Castlemartyr and Kilbree.

Minor C: There are 18 teams divided into three sections of six. Section A: Tracton, Youghal, Rockbán, Midleton, Banteer and Newtownshandrum. In Section B it’s Valley Rovers, Ballinascarthy, Millstreet, Bishopstown Carrigaline and Sliabh Rua.

Section C has Barryroe, Castlelyons, Bride Rovers, Blarney, Clonakilty and Cobh.

Minor D: Nine teams, with two sections one of five and one of four. Section A: Nemo Rangers, Erins Own, St Fanahans, St Colum’s. Section B: Dungourney, Kilworth, Brian Dillon’s and Grenagh

More in this section

Sponsored Content