Cork basketball: Local heroes make the cut in men's and women's All-Star teams

Cork basketball: Local heroes make the cut in men's and women's All-Star teams
Tradehouse Central Ballincollig's Ciaran O'Sullivan lays off the ball to Andre Nation against Sligo All-Stars. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

A host of Cork basketballers have made the cut in the Basketball Ireland All-Stars.

The hoops' governing body polled the experts to come up with three teams for each of the four main leagues, with Tradehouse Central Ballincollig leading the way with three in the Division 1 section.

Andre Nation and Ciarán O'Sullivan both made the first five after the Collig's unbeaten promotion-clinching run, while Spaniard Inigo Zabola is included in the third team and Young Player of the Year Dylan Corkery is unfortunate to miss out. 

In addition, Fr Mathew's American Jarvis Pugh features in the Division 1 roster.

Jarvis Pugh. Picture: Larry Cummins
Jarvis Pugh. Picture: Larry Cummins

In the women's Division 1 section, two Leesiders in Dublin, Edel Thornton and Sarah Kenny were rewarded for helping Trinity Meteors to the title and a chance to compete in the Super League.

Coughlan C&S Neptune's Catalan Nil Sabata was picked in the second Super League All-Star line-up, with four Cork-based basketballers in the women's equivalent.

Player of the Year, Ambassador UCC Glanmire's Shrita Parker is in the first five, Fr Mathew's Grainne Dwyer and Shannon Brady are in the second five, and Singleton SuperValu Brunell's Treyanna Clay on the third team.

Treyanna Clay. Picture: Jim Coughlan
Treyanna Clay. Picture: Jim Coughlan

Former Glanmire hooper Claire Rockall was included for her excellence with home-town club Maree in Galway.

Men's Super League All-Stars 1:

Delaney Blaylock (Belfast Star), Lorcan Murphy (Griffith College Templeogue), Stefan Zecevic (DBS Éanna), Paul Dick (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors), CJ Fulton (Belfast Star)

Men's Super League All-Stars 2:

Mike Bonaparte (DCU Saints), Mike Garrow (UCD Marian), Allan Thomas (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin), Nil Sabata (Coughlan C&S Neptune), Joshua Wilson (DBS Éanna) 

Nil Sabata. Picture Larry Cummins.
Nil Sabata. Picture Larry Cummins.

Men's Super League All-Stars 3:

Jason Killeen (Griffith College Templeogue), Jonathan Lawton (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors), Darin Johnson (Maree), Neil Randolph (Griffith College Templeogue), Tomas Fernandez (Pyrobel Killester) 

Women's Super League All-Stars 1:

Shrita Parker (Ambassador UCC Glanmire), Meredith Burkahll (DCU Mercy), Kaitlyn Slagus (IT Carlow Basketball), Adella Randle El (Pyrobel Killester), Claire Rockall (Maree) 

Women's Super League All-Stars 2:

Ashley Russell (DCU Mercy), Christa Reed (Pyrobel Killester), Grainne Dwyer (Fr Mathew's), Sarah Woods (DCU Mercy), Shannon Brady (Fr Mathew's) 

Shannon Brady. Picture: Eddie O'Hare
Shannon Brady. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Women's Super League All-Stars 3:

Jasmine Walker (Maxol WIT Wildcats), Rachel Huijsdens (DCU Mercy), Treyanna Clay (Singleton SuperValu Brunell), Stephanie O’Shea (Maxol WIT Wildcats), Rebecca Nagle (Pyrobel Killester) 

Men's Division 1 All-Stars 1:

Andre Nation (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig), Kevin Oberweiser (Limerick Celtics), Dom Uhl (LYIT Donegal), Ciaran O’Sullivan (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig), Manny Payton (LYIT Donegal) 

Men's Division 1 All-Stars 2:

Toby Christensen (Scotts Lakers St Paul’s Killarney), Aaron Jackson (Scotts Lakers St Paul’s Killarney), Reece Dupler (Limerick Sport Eagles), Kadeem Smithen (Ulster University), Carlos Hortelano (Limerick Celtics) 

Men's Division 1 All-Stars 3:

Duane Harper (IT Carlow Basketball), Jarvis Pugh (Fr Mathew's), Michael Grassey (WIT Vikings), James Butler (IT Carlow Basketball), Iñigo Zabola (Tradehouse Central Ballincollig) 

Inigo Zabola attempts to get past Jarvis Pugh. Picture: Howard Crowdy
Inigo Zabola attempts to get past Jarvis Pugh. Picture: Howard Crowdy

Women's Division 1 All-Stars 1:

Edel Thornton (Trinity Meteors), Kollyns Scarbrough (Ulster University), Trudy Walker (Portlaoise Panthers), Sarah Kenny (Trinity Meteors), Lauren Grigsby (Trinity Meteors) 

Women's Division 1 All-Stars 2:

Lorraine Scanlon (Team Tom McCarthy’s St Mary’s), Courtney Strait (Tipperary Knights), Kendall Bradbury (Limerick Celtics), Morgan O’Donnell (Griffith College Templeogue), Aisling Sullivan (Swords Thunder) 

Women's Division 1 All-Stars 3:

Rebecca Carmody (NUIG Mystics), Emma Sherwood (Team Tom McCarthy’s St Mary’s), Vernisha Andrews (Griffith College Templeogue), Peggy Black (Swords Thunder), Lexi Posset (Ulster University)

More in this section

Sponsored Content