Bargary grabs the Munster Senior Cup winner for Cork City against Mayfield

Bargary grabs the Munster Senior Cup winner for Cork City against Mayfield
Cian Bargary scored for Cork City against Mayfield. Picture: Larry Cummins

Mayfield United 1 Cork City 2.

CORK City are through to the semi-finals of the Munster Senior Cup as they defeated a spirited Mayfield United 2-1 at Mayfield Park on Tuesday night.

Goals from Cian Murphy and Cian Bargary, either side of Mayfield’s leveller from Mady Noah Cisse, was enough to see City progress to a last-four clash against Midleton.

Neale Fenn made 11 changes to his side that defeated Finn Harps last Friday and they took the lead with seven minutes on the clock thanks to Cian Murphy.

It came following a brilliant move as the lively Cory Galvin picked out Crowley and his clever pass in behind the defence released the excellent Uniss Kargbo.

The young left-back got his head up and rolled the ball into the path of Murphy who expertly slotted his shot into the bottom left corner.

United came into this game second in the Munster Senior League Senior first division, four points behind leaders Blarney United but they have played a game more.

They finally had their first sight on goal midway through the first half but after winning possession with a thunderous tackle, midfielder Christopher McCarthy’s dragged his ambitious shot from 30 plus yards well wide of the left upright.

Cork finished the first 45 strongly but they failed to add to their advantage before the break as they couldn’t find a way past the impressive United keeper Ryan Delaney.

The shot-stopper was on his toes and he coolly dealt with fiercely hit efforts from Murphy, Dillon, Galvin and Crowley before the interval.

The home side started the second half brightly and they got their reward on 51 as Mady Noah Cisse fired home from a couple of yards after Matthew Murray’s corner caused problems.

City soon had a glorious opportunity to retake the lead but after Murphy was pulled back by Scott McCarthy inside the box, Galvin saw his penalty well saved by Delaney.

But they would score what proved to be the winner just past the hour when substitute Cian Bargary curled a stunning shot into the roof of the net.

MAYFIELD UNITED: Ryan Delaney, Eoin Quirke, Scott McCarthy, Troy O’Sullivan, Mady Noah Cisse, Mark O’Donnell, Christopher McCarthy, Matthew Murray, Matthew Ekhosuehi, Colin Lemass, Thomas Kelly.

Subs: David O’Gorman for Eoin Quirke (ht), Tony Kelly for Matthew Ekhosuehi (69), Eoin McCarthy for Christopher McCarthy (80), Gary Gould for Matthew Murray (84), Josh McAuliffe for Thomas Kelly (87).

CORK CITY: David Harrington, Alan Bennett, Rob Slevin, Cory Galvin, Darragh Crowley, Josh Honohan, Reydon Dillon, Cian Murphy, Dale Holland, Uniss Kargbo, Rory Doyle.

Subs: Adam Hunt for Josh Honohan (ht), Jake O’Brien for Alan Bennett (62), Cian Bargary for Cian Murphy (67), Sean McGrath for Darragh Crowley (86).

Referee: Graham Kelly.

More in this section

Sponsored Content