Freshers hurling: UCC fall short on home turf against impressive DCU

Freshers hurling: UCC fall short on home turf against impressive DCU
UCC's Cillian Hogan is tackled by GMIT's Darren Duggan, during their recent Freshers 1 Hurling clash, at the Mardyke. Picture: David Keane.

UCC 0-11 DCU 1-19

UCC fell short in the Electric Ireland HE GAA Fresher 1 Hurling Championship at the semi-final stage as they were comprehensively beaten by DCU at the Mardyke on Wednesday evening.

Despite a spirited showing from College's Eoin Carey, it was the Dublin side who progress to the final where they will meet the University of Limerick following this 11-point victory.

UCC reached this round of the competition thanks to crucial group stage wins over WIT and GMIT, either side of a disappointing loss to UL.

They started this game on the front foot and they raced into a three-point to one lead inside eight minutes with the scores coming from Paddy Leary (2) and a free from Padraig Power.

But their Dublin rivals soon settled into the game and after scores from Daragh McBride and a Ross Banuille free levelled matters, they took the lead when Bryan Duigan batted a long pass into the roof of the net.

The sides swapped a couple of overs midway through the first period but D.C.U would dominate proceedings as the half time break approached, scoring four points without reply.

The Cork side were left to rue missed opportunities as they hit 10 wides in the first period which saw them go into the break trailing 0-5 to 1-8.

They showed spirit in the second half - Carey adding three excellent points -but DCU were simply too strong. Inspired by Ross Banuille and David Blanchfield, they stormed to the win.

Scorers for UCC: E Carey 0-4 (0-1 f), P Power 0-3 (0-2 f), P Leary 0-2, D Connery 0-2 f.

DCU: R Banuille 0-7 (0-5 frees), B Duigan 1-2 (0-1 frees), D Blanchfield 0-4, M O’Connell 0-2, C Clancy, D McBride, L Dunne and D Power 0-1 each.

UCC: C O’Mahony (Ballygunner); C O’Brien (Midleton), E Roche (Bride Rovers), F Deny (Ballincollig); J Taylor (Moyne Templetouhy), D Moran (Castlemartyr), E Carey (Kilworth); C Hogan (Mooncoin), D Connery (Na Piarsaigh); A Brennan (Graigue Ballycallan), P Leary (Ballygunner), P Cooney (Ballincollig); E McCarthy (Inniscarra), P Power (Blarney), S Barrett (Blarney).

Subs: C O’Sullivan for P Cooney (ht), S O’Neill for C Hogan (34), C Buckley for A Brennan (36).

DCU: J Lawlor; N Murphy, A Dunphy, T Cullen; C Scully, C Murphy, J Dowd; M O’Connell, D Power; D Blanchfield, D McBride, B Duignan; C Clancy, R Banuille, L Dunne.

Subs: J Byrne for C Clancy (46), S Cosgrove for T Cullen (52), B Cleary for C Scully (52), E Daly for L Dunne (57).

Referee: Kevin Jordan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content