The Echo weekend sports quiz: Test your knowledge of years ending in four

The Echo weekend sports quiz: Test your knowledge of years ending in four
Cork captain Anna Geary and Joanne O'Callaghan with the O'Duffy Cup in 2014. See question 26. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

1. The 1994 World Cup final between Brazil and Italy provided which first?

2. In which city did the 2014 European Athletics Championships take place?

3. Who did Cork beat in the 1984 All-Ireland hurling final in Thurles?

4. Which American won the men’s 100m at the 2004 Olympic Games?

5. The Gaelic Athletic Association was founded in 1884, but in which year were All-Ireland championships first held — 1885, 1886 or 1887?

6. Cork City finished second in the League of Ireland in John Caulfield’s first year in charge, 2014 — it was the first of how many consecutive seasons in the top two?

7. Which golfer won two majors in 1974 — and was the only non-American to win a major between 1972 and 1978?

8. Who won the first of seven Formula 1 World Drivers’ Championships in 1994?

9. Which county is scheduled to host Euro 2024?

10. Which player won the 1994 hurler of the year award but wasn’t selected on the All-Stars team?

11. Who did Kerry beat in the 2004 All-Ireland football final?

12. Arsenal won the Premier League in 2004 as they went undefeated, matching the record of which side from 1889?

13. Who won Super Bowl XLVIII in February 2014?

14. After Cork won the 1954 All-Ireland hurling title, when would they next claim the Liam MacCarthy Cup?

15. Which Spanish tennis player won two women’s grand slam titles in 1994?

16. Reigning All-Ireland football champions Cork lost to who in the 1974 All-Ireland semi-final?

17. Who won the 1954 World Cup?

18. When Stephen Hendry beat Jimmy White in the 1994 World Snooker Championship final, how many years in succession had they met in the decider?

19. Tiger Woods failed to win a major title in 2004 — when was the next time that that happened?

20. Which club won a fourth Cork senior hurling title in seven years in 2014?

21. When was 15-a-side rugby last included in the Olympic Games – 1924, 1944 or 1964?

22. Which legendary cyclist won the Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and World Championship in 1974?

23. Which Scottish venue hosted the 2014 Ryder Cup?

24. Which country hosted and won Euro 84?

25. Which county beat Dublin to win the 1994 All-Ireland football title?

26. Cork won the first of four All-Ireland camogie titles in five years in 2014 – when was their last victory prior to that, 2001, 2005 or 2009?

27. Which French club won the Heineken Cup in 2014?

28. Did Ireland win the Five Nations Championship in 1964, 1974 or 1984?

29. What age was George Foreman when he became the oldest world heavyweight boxing champion in 1994 – 41, 43 or 45?

30. The 2004 All-Ireland ladies’ football final was the last not involving Cork until 2010 – who won in 2004?

31. Which player won the first of three World Snooker Championship titles in four years as he beat Ronnie O’Sullivan in the 2014 final?

32. Which Cork club won the League of Ireland in 1974?

33. In 1994, which Irish athlete became the first man over 40 to run a sub-four-minute mile?

34. Who did Liverpool beat in the 1984 European Cup final?

35. Which Irish jockey rode Pineau de Re to victory in the 2014 Aintree Grand National?

36. Cork won the All-Ireland hurling title in 2004, having lost the Munster final — who beat them?

37. Who captained the Cork senior football team in 1994 — Steven O’Brien, John Kerins or Larry Tompkins?

38. In which event did John Treacy win silver for Ireland at the 1984 Olympics?

39. At which course did Rory McIlroy win the 2014 Open Championship?

40. In 1964, which player captained his team to win the FA Cup at Wembley and would go on to lift trophies at the venue in each of the next two years?


The 1994 World Cup final featured Italy and Brazil.
The 1994 World Cup final featured Italy and Brazil.

1. First World Cup final to be decided by a penalty shootout 2. Zurich 3. Offaly 4. Justin Gatlin 5. 1887 6. Five 7. Gary Player 8. Michael Schumacher 9. Germany 10. Brian Whelahan 11. Mayo 12. Preston North End 13. Seattle Seahawks 14. 1966 15. Arantxa Sanchez Vicario 16. Dublin 17. West Germany 18. Three 19. 2009 20. Sarsfield 21. 1924 22. Eddy Merckx 23. Gleneagles 24. France 25. Down 26. 2009 27. Toulon 28. 1974 29. 45 30. Galway 31. Mark Selby 32. Cork Celtic 33. Eamon Coghlan 34. Roma 35. Leighton Aspell 36. Waterford 37. Steven O’Brien 38. Marathon 39. Hoylake (Royal Liverpool) 40. Bobby Moore – West Ham won the 1964 FA Cup and 1965 European Cup Winners’ Cup at Wembley and then he skippered England to win the 1966 World Cup

More in this section

Sponsored Content