Cork basketball: Local league winners and top player awards are announced

Cork basketball: Local league winners and top player awards are announced
Ballincollig's Samantha Coomey, one of the award winners, taking on Fr Mathew's defenders Saidbh Fitzgerald, Daneille Murphy O'Riordan and Sinead O'Mahony. Picture: Mike English.

THE Cork Ladies Basketball County Board have made a decision to finish the current season. 

They awarded league titles to the teams who were on top of their respective league tables. 

However, in some cases, clubs shared the league crown. 

The board also announced the leagues' Most Valuable Player awards for the season. 

Carraig na bhFear Rebels coach Maeve Hackett was named the Thomas Rawley Personality of the Year, with Cobh scooping the Club of the Year award. 

County Board chairman George Meade gave the breakdown on the board’s decision. 

“The Cork Ladies Basketball decided earlier this month that this season would close due to Covid-19 in the interest of the safety of our members, their families, and the public,” he said.

“We do feel that we should recognise the efforts our members made during our shortened season.

"While our AGM is postponed and our awards night cancelled, we are still going to name our MVP, Club of the Year, and the Thomas Rawley Personality Award winners for this season. We have also named League Winners for 2019/20.

"We would like to thank clubs for their understanding and cooperation in these extraordinary times which has enabled us to go ahead with the awards.

"We like to say a special thanks to all the volunteers, officials, players, parents, the Echo, and everyone who helped to promote our games.

"We hope everyone stays safe and we will all be together with our sport when it is safe to do so.”

Roll of Honour:

League winners: 

U12 A: St Paul’s Killarney 

U13: Limerick Celtics and Mallow 

U14: Fr Mathew’s 

U14 B 1: St Colm's

U14 B 2: Carraig na bhFear

U16 A: Brunell 

U16 B 1: Carraig na bhFear 

U16 B 2: Glanmire and UL Huskies 

U18 A: Brunell and Waterford Wildcats 

U18 B: Glanmire 

Division 1: Bantry 

Senior: Ballincollig 

Premier: Fr Mathew’s and Glanmire.

MVP Awards: 

U12 A: Sophie O’Keeffe (Mallow) 

U12 B: Caoimhe Sweent (St Colm’s) 

U13: Avril O’Sullivan (Carraig na bhFear) 

U14: Ava Walshe

U14 B 1: Nofessat Munino (St Colm’s) 

U14 B 2: Katie Tarrant (Midleton)

U16 A: Amy Dugan (Cobh)

U16 B 1: Naomi Conlon (Bandon)

U16 B 2: Katie Savage (Kanturk) 

U18 A: Lauryn Homan (Brunell) 

U18 B: Ella Donegan (Bandon) 

Division 1: Agnieszka Lukasiewicz (Fr Mathew’s) 

Senior: Natalie Landy (Mallow) 

Premier: Samantha Coomey (Ballincollig)

Club of the Year: Cobh Basketball Club

Thomas Rawley Personality of the Year: Maeve Hackett (Carraig na BhFear Rebels).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more