Late drama as Mayfield hurlers deny Dungourney a goal to win by two points

Late drama as Mayfield hurlers deny Dungourney a goal to win by two points
Mayfield hurler Shane O'Donovan was involved in some late drama against Dungourney at the weekend. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Mayfield 1-12 Dungourney 0-13

THERE was a dramatic finish to the Co-Op Superstores Intermediate A Hurling Championship at Lisgoold as Mayfield held out.

Clinging onto a two-point lead and deep into added time, Mayfield’s Shane O’Donovan ran through the Dungourney defence but opted for a goal instead of a point and Dungourney’s netminder Shane Casey denied him.

A quick clearance up-field resulted in a melee on the Mayfield goalline and after consulting umpires and his linesmen, Referee Justin Murphy awarded a 21-metre free after Mayfield’s keeper Darren Wise was a judged to have picked the ball up on the line.

Ryan Denny stepped up and knew a goal was needed but his effort was saved as the final whistle sounded.

Mayfield have been at the end of a few defeats recently by late scores and they were mightily relieved when Denny’s shot failed to find the net.

This was a tight low scoring game with Dungourney on top in the opening thirty minutes but eight wides in this period was to prove costly.

Shane Donovan who played as an extra defender for Mayfield in the first forty minutes moved into the attack when Garry Lehane was introduced as a sub and he contributed four valuable points.

Dungourney introduced Ryan Denny and Shane Hegarty at half time but they got little of the ball as Robert Lynch, Ian Looney and Stephen Crowley excelled.

It was all square at half time 1-4 for Mayfield to 0-7 for the Imokilly side.

Kevin Punch got the all-important goal after good work by Paul Condon and free-taker David O’Neill.

An excellent 65 from Bill Ahern edged Dungourney level at the water break 0-11 to 1-8.

Twice more in the final 10 minutes the sides were level but an O’Neill free and a point from O’Donovan edged Mayfield in front before the dramatic finish saw Mayfield victorious.

Scorers: Mayfield: K Punch 1-2, D O’Neill 0-4f, S O’Donovan 0-4, D Malone, P Duggan 0-1 each.

Dungourney: R Denny 0-3, B Ahern 0-3 (0-2 65), Cormac Griffin 0-3f, N Motherway 0-2, J Griffin, Shane Hegarty 0-1 each.

MAYFIELD: D Wyse; S Crowley, I Looney, P Condon; D Hayes, R Lynch, D O’Gorman; K Punch, D O’Neill; S O’Donovan, D Malone, MJ Crowley, D Lucey, P Duggan, S Duggan.

Subs: G Lehane for Malone (42), S Keegan for Crowley (50).

DUNGOURNEY: S Casey; W McCarthy, B Forbes, K Rohan; B Ahern, J McCarthy, M Leahy; D Healy, J Griffin; Cormac Griffin, N Motherway, Sean Hegarty; Colm Griffin, S McCarthy, N Flynn.

Subs: R Denny for McCarthy, Shane Hegarty for Flynn (both ht), J Ahern for Sean Hegarty (45).

Referee: Justin Murphy (Castletownroche).

More in this section

Sponsored Content