Mitchelstown pass another test with flying colours in the Cork IAFC

Mitchelstown pass another test with flying colours in the Cork IAFC
Cathail O'Mahony, Cork senior, scored 2-1 for Mitchelstown. Picture: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Mitchelstown 4-12 Adrigole 1-8 

A devastating scoring burst in the second half propelled Mitchelstown to a comfortable IAFC win against Adrigole in Carrigadrohid.

Mitchelstown scored 3-4 without reply in the second quarter which effectively killed this game as a contest. This win ensures Mitchelstown have secured their place in the next round. Adrigole will play Glanworth in their last game seeking a win to make the next round.

Mitchelstown with Cork star Cathal O’Mahony in imperious form produced a brilliant display which enhances their credentials for a strong championship campaign. They brushed aside a gallant challenge from Adrigole with ease. They possess a formidable team who will harbour genuine aspirations of county glory.

Cathail O’Mahony opened the scoring in the opening minute for Mitchelstown. This was quickly negated by a Kevin Goggin free. Mitchelstown quickly stamped their authority on proceedings as they eased into a two point lead after 11 minutes. Impressive midfielder Sean Walsh and Shane Cahill recording scores. 

Aaron Jer O’Sullivan reduced the arrears for Adrigole, but this proved their last score of the half. Mitchelstown upped the tempo in style as they produced an emphatic performance in the second quarter.

Their fluent inter-play enabled them to carve open an exposed Adrigole rearguard. Two goals from Sean O’Sullivan and a goal from Cathal O’Mahony moved them into a commanding 14 point interval lead, 3-8 to 0-3.

Ryan O’Sullivan opened the scoring for Adrigole in the second half, but the gulf in class was very evident. Cathail O’Mahony netted his second goal following another nice finish which moved Mitchelstown 16 points clear after 33 minutes. 

The impressive Seanie O’Sullivan and Kevin Goggin (following a fine individual goal) recorded consolation scores for the Beara side.

Scorers for Mitchelstown: S O’Sullivan 2-0, C O’Mahony 2-1, J Cott 0-3, J Sheehan 0-3 f, S Cahill 0-2 (0-1 f), P Magee, S Walsh, D Flynn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Adrigole: K Goggin 1-2 (0-2 f), S O’Sullivan 0-3 (0-1 f), C O’Neill, R O’Sullivan 0-1 each, A Jer O’Sullivan 0-1 f.

MITCHELSTOWN: L Hanna; L Finn, F Herlihy, K Roche; C English, S Beston, P Molloy; S Walsh, M Walsh; S O’Sullivan, C O’Mahony, P Magee; J Sheehan, S Cahill, J Cott.

Subs: A O’Brien for C O’Mahony (40), D Flynn for P Magee (44), G Carroll for K Roche (50), D Dineen for M Walsh (51).

ADRIGOLE: W O’Sullivan; D Harrington, C O’Neill, J Goggin; F Carey, S O’Shea, C O’Shea; N O’Sullivan, J Harrington; S O’Sullivan, K O’Sullivan Green, C O’Shea; K Goggin, A Jer O’Sullivan, C Carey.

Subs: D Crowley for J Goggin (24), R O’Sullivan for C Carey (24), K Crowley for C O’Neill (26).

Referee: James Regan (Lough Rovers)

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more