Cill na Martra record another impressive victory in the PIFC over St Vincent's

Cill na Martra record another impressive victory in the PIFC over St Vincent's
Diarmuid Ó Ceallaigh of Naomh Abán and Eoin Ó Loingsigh of Cill Na Martra trying to win the ball in the Bon Secours Cork PIFC at Macroom. Picture: Denis Minihane.

Cill Na Martra 4-14 St Vincent's 0-9

CILL Na Marta have made it two wins out of two in Group B of the Bon Secours Cork Premier Intermediate Football Championship as they emphatically defeated St Vincents 4-14 to 0-9 in Coachford on Saturday evening.

Goals in the first half from Daniel Ó Duinnín and Shane Ó Duinnín, followed by two more in the second half from a Micheál Ó Deasúna penalty and a clever finish from Tadhg Ó Corcora helped Cill Na Martra to an impressive 17-point triumph.

St Vincents suffered disappointment in their first game back since the restart as they were beaten 1-13 to 1-7 almost three weeks pervious while Cill Na Martra fared better as they defeated Naomh Aban 0-11 to 1-6 that same afternoon.

The Saints grabbed the first score of the game here through Blake Murphy but they would only score twice more before the break as their opponents grabbed control of proceedings.

After three quick points in reply, the white and blues grabbed the opening goal of the game when Daniel Ó Duinnín collected Gearoid Ó Goillidhe’s clever pass before slotting it past the keeper.

They ought to have raised a few more green flags than they managed before the break but they were denied by a combination of the woodwork and goalkeeper Paddy O’Shea, although Shane Ó Duinnín did find the net to ensure they led 2-7 to 0-3 at the interval.

Led by Murphy, Vincent’s showed more fight in the second period and they managed to get five of the next eight overs to reduce the deficit.

But after losing Anthony O’Callaghan to the sin bin, Cill Na Martra made the most of the extra space and they claimed a huge win with Micheál O’Deasúna rolling home the resulting penalty from that challenge before Tadhg Ó Corcora dummied past the keeper and fired the ball into the empty net.

Scorers for Cill Na Martra: S Ó Duinnín 1-3, M Ó Deasúna 1-3 (1-0 pen, 0-3 f), D Ó hUrdail 0-4 (0-1 f), D Ó Duinnín 1-1, T Ó Corcora 1-0, C Ó Duinnín 0-2, D Ó Conaill 0-1.

St Vincents: B Murphy 0-6 (0-3 f), A Harte, D O’Regan and K Lynch 0-1 each.

CILL NA MARTRA: A O Conaill; D Mac Lochlainn, G O Mocháin, E Ó Loingsigh; T Ó Corcora, N Ó Laoire, D Ó Conaill; G Ó Goillidhe, S Ó Foirréidh; C Ó Duinnín, M Ó Deasúna, C Ó Meachair; D Ó hUrdail, D Ó Duinnín, S Ó Duinnín.

ST VINCENTS: P O’Shea, A O’Callaghan, D Fenton, D O’Regan; K Caulfield, D McCarthy, S Duggan; W Long, A O’Callaghan; A Harte, D Duggan, P O’Sullivan; K Lynch, J.P Murphy, B Murphy.

Sub: K Sorensen for W Long (h-t).

Referee: Brian Coniry (Crosshaven).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more