Inniscarra raise three green flags in Rebel Óg minor victory over Beara

Inniscarra raise three green flags in Rebel Óg minor victory over Beara
Inniscarra's Sean Leisk on Corn Uí Mhuirí duty with Coláiste Choilm. Picture: Domnick Walsh

Inniscarra 3-6 Beara 0-9

INNISCARRA were comprehensive winners over Beara in last night’s County Premier 1 Minor Football Championship contest at Ballyanly.

In a game that was played in overall wet conditions, it was Inniscarra that were to show their mettle and stomach for the fight against the West Cork outfit.

The opening score of the game arrived after four minutes of play through Inniscarra, who found the back of the net. After a free-flowing move into his path, the ball was dispatched to the net by Oisín O’Brien. Beara responded courtesy of a score by Denis Collins with seven minutes played.

But then Inniscarra were to find the back of the net for a second occasion just before the quarter of an hour mark. Stephen Linehan broke free from his marker, before blasting the ball home with precision to the back of the net.

Linehan was to score a fine point from distance for the mid-Cork men just minutes later before Liam O’Connor slotted over a fine curling effort from out wide. Inniscarra ended the half with a converted free by Seán Leisk, as they led 2-3 to 0-2 at the break.

There was a third Inniscarra goal moments into the second half, as Josh Roberts drilled the ball home powerfully, which was followed by another well-taken point from O’Connor and a Roberts score.

Beara, to their credit, refused to give up and they were to get four out of the next five scores. But no doubt about it, this was an evening where Inniscarra were totally deserving winners. They were to cap off a fine evening in wet conditions, with a cracking curling effort by Stephen Linehan.

Ibane Gaels were heavy winners over Gabriel Rangers in the other game in the group.

Scorers for Inniscarra: S Linehan 1-2, J Roberts 1-1, O O’Brien 1-0, L O’Connor 0-2, S Leisk 0-1 f.

Beara: C O’Sullivan, R Crowley 0-3 each, D O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan, D Collins 0-1 each.

INNISCARRA: J Gould; S Aherne, N Vaughan, E Piggott; S Quinlivan, S Linehan, J Enright; C O’Leary, S Leisk; M Linehan, O Morris, O O’Brien; J Roberts, L O’Connor, B Lowney.

Subs: S O’Donoghue for Lowney, K O’Mahony for Leisk (both 50), S Dineen for M Linehan (54), L Keogh for O’Connor (55), E Cunningham for Enright, S Naughton for Roberts (both 58).

BEARA: R Crowley; J Harrington, S Power, T O’Sullivan; L Harrington, D Murphy, D O’Sullivan; F Fenner, A O’Sullivan; D Collins, C O’Sullivan, S O’Shea; T O’Sullivan, T Murphy, L Kelly.

Subs: M O’Sullivan for Crowley (35), D Crowley for O’Sullivan (44).

Referee: Cormac Dineen(Douglas).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more