Kildorrery hurlers come from behind to snatch win from Mayfield

Kildorrery hurlers come from behind to snatch win from Mayfield
Kildorrery forward Peter O'Brien on the attack.  Picture: Des Barry

Kildorrery 0-20 Mayfield 2-13 

KILDORRERY had a point to spare over Mayfield in the Co-Op Superstores IHC at Castlelyons. 

The north Cork side trailed for the bulk of a tough battle before taking advantage of second-half injury time to snatch a victory when firing over the last three points.

It was a competitive game all through, where David O'Neill was in great scoring form for Mayfield from frees. and the city side led 0-4 to 0-2 after nine minutes. 

A good delivery by Darren Hayes found Shane Duggan who goaled. O'Neill followed with two quickfire frees for a 1-6 to 0-2. 

Peter O'Brien and Finbarr Stapleton kept Kildorrery in touch 1-6 to 0-4. Both sides exchanged points with Mayfield holding an interval lead 1-9 to 0-9.

Kildorrery introduced a number of subs in the second half and Dylan Kent at midfield had an immediate impact winning a few frees.

O'Brien pointed a free and a 65 cutting the lead 1-9 to 0-11 before Mayfield had a goal from a penalty by Darren Wyse in the 36th minute. 

Points for the Hill by PJ Keating and David Kelly had the lead down to a point entering the final quarter 2-9 to 0-14. Mayfield lost two players Shane Kelly and David Malone separately in the last quarter to yellow cards. 

With five minutes to go Mayfield held a 2-10 to 0-15 lead before O'Neill converted another free. 

Eamonn O'Connor was denied a goal by a splendid save by Wyse with the rebound going out for a 65 before O'Brien levelled from the '65 2-11 to 0-17. 

O'Neill had two more frees for the Seandún side. 

Almost 10 minutes of injury time were played and three late scores for Kildorrery by O'Brien, O'Connor and Finbarr were followed by the final whistle.

Scorers for Kildorrery: P O'Brien 0-10 (0-5 f, 0-2 65), F Stapleton, J McEniry 0-2 each, PJ Keating, S Fitzgerald, D Kelly, J Keating, C Harrington, E O'Connor 0-1 each.

Mayfield: D O'Neill 0-11 f, S Duggan 1-0, D Wyse 1-0 pen, S O'Donovan, D Lucey 0-1 each.

KILDORRERY: I Butler, S Kelly, S Fitzgerald, R Hunter, J O'Gorman, M Walsh, R McEniry, C O'Baoill, J Keating, J O'Sullivan, F Stapleton, P O'Brien, D Kelly, A O'Brien, J McEniry. 

Subs: D Kent for C O'Baoill, C Harrington for A O'Brien, P J Keating for J O'Sullivan, W Fouhy for R McEniry, E O'Connor for D Kelly.

MAYFIELD: D Wyse, P Condon, I Looney, S Crowley, D Hayes, R Lynch, D O'Gorman, M J Coffey, D O'Neill, S Kelly, D Malone, S O'Donovan, S Duggan, P Duggan, D Lucey. 

Subs: J Curtin for M J Coffey, B Punch for R Lynch (blood), K Punch for D Lucey, R O'Sullivan for P Duggan.

Referee: Willie Wallace (Aghada).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

People holding phone with App

It's all about Cork!

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

It's all about Cork!

App Store LogoGoogle Play Logo
The Echo - Women in Sport Awards - Logo



Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Contact Us Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

© Evening Echo Ltd, Linn Dubh, Assumption Road, Blackpool, Cork. Registered in Ireland: 523713

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more