Aghabullogue footballers grind out a vital victory against Kildorrery

Aghabullogue footballers grind out a vital victory against Kildorrery
Picture: INPHO/James Crombie

Aghabullogue 2-7 Kildorrery 2-6

AGHABULLOGUE got their 2020 championship season off to the perfect start with a hard-fought win over a Kildorrery side that pushed them all the way.

On a near-perfect night for football in Mallow, the Muskerry men showed grit to drag a win from what looked destined to be a bad night at the office.

The first point scored in Carrigoon in months came from the boot of Aghabullogue midfielder Sean O’Connell on five minutes, with Ian Barry-Murphy doubling the Muskerry side’s lead eight minutes later after a flowing team move.

It took until the 19th minute for Kildorrery to get off the mark, Peter O’Brien scoring his side’s first point of this season’s championship.

David Thompson doubled the boys in green’s advantage but Stapleton set up Tom Monaghan for what must be one of the easiest goals of his career.

Aghabullogue weren’t about to let their first-half wind advantage count for nothing and a long ball from midfield was collected and despatched to the net by the ever-dangerous Barry-Murphy as they led at the break by the minimum, 1-3 to 1-2.

A quick score from Evan O’Sullivan kept the forward momentum in favour of Aghabullogue and it was followed by a second free from Thompson.

Just as Aghabullogue looked to be turning the screw, a brace of points from Kildorrery’s Stapleton and Jamie O’Gorman brought the gap back to the minimum once more.

Kildorrery rocked Aghabullogue moments later when James O’Sullivan found himself in the right place at the right time to squeeze the ball past Buckley and Kildorrery led for just the second time.

Kildorrery looked to have won it in added time with a point from Kieran Hurley but Aghabullogue sealed the deal with a net-buster from Thompson.

Scorers for Aghabullogue: D Thompson 1-3 f, I Barry-Murphy 1-1, S O’Connell 0-1, E O’Sullivan 0-1, L Casey 0-1 (free).

Kildorrery: T Monaghan, J O’Sullivan 1-0 each; P O’Brien 0-2 (one free), F Stapleton, Jamie O’Gorman, K Hurley, R McEniry 0-1 each.

AGHABULLOGUE: J Buckley; P Dilworth, C Smith, P Twomey; A Murphy, S Tarrant, B Casey; S O’Connell, M Dennehy; N Barry Murphy, M Bradley, L Casey; D Thompson, E O’Sullivan, I Barry Murphy. 

Subs: P O’Sullivan for N Barry-Murphy (41), M O’Regan for L Casey (45).

KILDORRERY: T Watson; C O’Baoill, E O’Connor, PJ Keating; D McNamara, I Butler, M Walsh; K Hurley, S Fitzgerald; J O’Gorman, D Kelly, F Stapleton; J O’Sullivan, P O’Brien; T Monaghan. 

Subs: S Kelly for M Walsh (inj 3), A O’Brien for D Kelly (47), R McEniry for J O’Gorman (53), C Harrington for T Monaghan (53), R Hurley for S Kelly (60).

Referee: C McAlister (Aghada).

More in this section

Sponsored Content