Young supersub Alan Walsh nails late Kanturk winner in PIFC

Young supersub Alan Walsh nails late Kanturk winner in PIFC
Part of the Cork squad for the Munster U15 Football Tournament in Duhallow in 2017 are Luke Murphy (Duarigle Gaels), Darragh Cashman (Duarigle Gaels), Alan Walsh (Kanturk/Wolfe Tones), Danny Linehan (Croke Rovers) and Brian O'Sullivan (Kanturk/Wolfe Tones). Picture: John Tarrant

Kanturk 1-11 Macroom 1-10

AN understrength Kanturk were put to the pin of their collar to overcome a brave Macroom in the opener to a highly entertaining Bons Secour Cork County Premier IFC in Cullen on Saturday evening.

Kanturk dug out a winning point from sub, minor Alan Walsh, deep in injury time, leaving Macroom counting the cost of wayward shooting.

Kanturk were without the Walsh cousins, Aidan and Ryan and All-Ireland U20 medalist Daniel O’Connell.

However, operating against the breeze, they got off to the best of starts, benefiting from a black card picked up by Macroom captain David Horgan.

Driven by Lorcan McLoughlin, Paul Walsh and James Fitzpatrick, Kanturk capitalised with a string of points for a 0-5 to 0-0 advantage. With the return of Horgan, Macroom stepped up their game, rewarded in the 14th min., good work by Conor O’Sullivan placed corner forward Dylan Twomey for a classy goal.

Though Kanturk answered with points by John Browne and Liam O’Keeffe, Macroom brought about a spirited response, Fintan Goold demonstrating leadership to deliver a trio of points for Macroom enjoy a 1-7 to 0-7 advantage at the break.


Kanturk rose the tempo upon the restart, a hesitant Macroom defence appeared to stall, waiting for a free, the play continued for Paul Walsh to set in motion Lorcan O’Neill to net. Follow up points by Ian Walsh and Mark Healy pushed the Duhallow side ahead.

Still Macroom offered a spirited response, Seán Kiely and Twomey weighed in with points for a slender advantage. Were it not for erratic shooting, Macroom might well had extended their lead.

That allowed Kanturk respond, Cian Clernon pointed a massive effort before Brian O’Sullivan placed minor colleague Alan Walsh for the match winning point.

Scorers for Kanturk: I Walsh (0-4, 0-2f), L O’Neill (1-0), L O’Keeffe (0-2), L McLoughlin, J Browne, M Healy, C Clernon, Walsh 0-1 each.

Macroom: D Twomey (1-2, 0-2 f), F Goold (0-3, 0-1f), S Kiely (0-2), E O’Gorman (0-2 ), J Murphy (0-1).

KANTURK: J Fullerton; J McLoughlin, D Browne, D O’Connor; L McLoughlin, L Cashman, J Browne; J Fitzpatrick, P Walsh; L O’Neill, M Healy, L O’Keeffe; I Walsh, C Clernon, K Holland.

Subs: B O’Sullivan for L O’Keeffe (42), A Walsh for K Holland (42), C Mullane for I Walsh (52 inj).

MACROOM: B O’Connell; G Angland, R Buckley, J Murphy; M Cronin, T Dineen, M Corrigan; A Quinn, D Horgan; S Kiely, F Goold, D Creedon; C O’Sullivan, E O’Gorman, D Twomey.

Subs: B O’Gorman for M Cronin (40), C Dineen for G Angland (59), E O’Leary for J Murphy (64 inj).

Referee: James Regan (Lough Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content