Midleton capture the East Cork JAFC title in style beating Carrigtwohill at their ease

Midleton capture the East Cork JAFC title in style beating Carrigtwohill at their ease

Midleton are the 2020 Michael O'Connor Motor Factors East Cork JAFC Champions for the second time in three years.

Midleton 4-8 

Carrigtwohill 0-9 

MIDLETON won their 14th Michael O’Connor Motor Factors East Cork JAFC title with ease in Cobh with a prolific performance over near neighbours and fierce rivals Carrigtwohill on Sunday afternoon.

Before the throw in it would be hard to know who would come out on top in this one, but it was pretty obvious early on that Midleton were in the mood for yet another goal fest after raising ten green flags in three championship matches en-route to the decider.

Midleton had the likes of Luke O’Farrell, Seamus O’Farrell and Cormac Beausang in their ranks all capable of doing damage to any side if they gelled and in Cobh they really dominated proceedings from the throw in.

Two early scores from Luke O’Farrell and Garran Manley set the early trend for the Magpies in the opening five minutes.

Carrigtwohill responded from their talisman Liam Gosnell, but seconds later Midleton were on the goal hunt yet again.

A ball from the excellent Cathal Gunning was pin point in its accuracy to the on-running Manley whose ball fired in left a one on one battle between the Midleton captain Eoin Moloney and the Carrigtwohill keeper Christopher Keegan and Moloney was the stronger fisting the ball into the Carrigtwohill net.

Chairman of the East Cork Board Donal O'Keeffe presents the Jim Ryan Cup to Midleton vice Captain Seamus O'Farrell.
Chairman of the East Cork Board Donal O'Keeffe presents the Jim Ryan Cup to Midleton vice Captain Seamus O'Farrell.

Gosnell responded with another placed effort for Carrigtwohill, but it was only a temporary moment for his side as Midleton again put on the pressure with counter attack after counter attack and two further points from Manley to lead by four points on the 15th minute.

Midleton suffered a big blow at the end of the first quarter when they lost their captain with a head collision, but his replacement Pa White proved to be just as effective for the remainder.

Gosnell did add two frees for Carrigtwohill on the 20 minute mark only to see those wiped out when Garran Manley powered down on the Carrigtwohill goal and ten yards out pulled the trigger. His shot was going right and wide but the ball struck the unlucky Jay Hogan and the ball deflected for the own goal into his own net which was a huge blow to the Carrigtwohill cause.

Luke O’Farrell pointed his second on the stroke of the short whistle and Midleton were well in command with a seven point lead at the break.

Midleton didn’t rest on their laurels on the resumption as Cormac Beausang pointed a free right from the re-start.

Connor O’Mahony pointed a score from play for Carrigtwohill, but in response Midleton were again clinical.

Cathal Gunning pointed on the right side in response for Midleton and then set up the move that led to Midleton’s third goal as Gunning’s pass found Pa White and his pass was met by Sean O’Meara who blasted the ball home.

Carrigtwohill did offer a little resistance towards the end of the third quarter with a couple of scores, but when second half substitute Ian Kenefick slotted home the fourth goal it really finished off a very dominant performance.

Christian Daly pointed the last score of the game for Midleton who will now go forward to represent Imokilly in the County championship and for the first time in a while the Imokilly Division may have a team that can go all the way.

Scorers for Midleton: S O’Meara 1-1, E Moloney and I Kenefick 1-0 each, J Hogan OG, G Manley 0-3, L O’Farrell 0-2, C Beausang C Gunning and C Daly 0-1 each.

Cobh: L Gosnell 0-5f, D Rooney, S Roche and O Baverstock 0-1 each.

MIDLETON: E Collins, C Crowley, A Ryan, S Smyth; L Dineen, S O’Farrell, E Mitchell; A Daly, P O’Farrell; C Gunning, L O’Farrell, S O’Meara; G Manley, E Moloney (Cpt) C Beausang.

Subs: P White for E Moloney (14) I Kenefick for A Daly (50) C Daly for C Gunning and P O’Brien for G Manley (56).

CARRIGTWOHILL: C Keegan; B Twomey, T Hogan (Cpt) D Rooney; A Walsh-Barry, J Horgan, P Sullivan; P Hogan, C O’Mahony; J McCarthy, L O’Sullivan, S Rohan; D Crotty, S Roche, L Gosnell.

Subs: B Horgan for D Crotty (25) S De Burca for D Rooney (42) L Kelly-O’Regan for L Gosnell 49).

Referee: Rob Whelan (Aghada).

More in this section

Sponsored Content