Ballinora through to Muskerry hurling final after cracking clash with Collig

Ballinora through to Muskerry hurling final after cracking clash with Collig

Ballinora forward Darragh Holmes has played at senior level with UCC. Picture: Denis Minihane.

Ballinora 1-17 Ballincollig 0-15

BALLINORA are through to the MJK Oils Mid Cork final after edging out Ballincollig in a thriller at Ovens. 

It took a superb goal from Kevin Murphy in the closing minutes to put daylight between the sides. A brace from the lively Tommy Burns gave the victors an early impetus.

Ballincollig registered their first score via Shane Murphy after good work from Conor Kinsella. Further points from Ballinora’s Alan O’Shea, Darragh Holmes, Darragh Corkery and a third from Tommy Burns gave them a five-point lead.

Ballincollig’s Stephen Wills had a great game and landed a score which reduced the gap to four points, 0-6 to 0-2.

Following a fourth point from Burns and a 65 from Alan O’Shea this game looked over. However, Ballincollig found their rhythm and three placed efforts from Wills and points from James O’Leary and Sean O’Donoghue made it into a contest.

Ballinora edged three clear with a free from Darragh Holmes before Wills reduced the gap to two points with another free. It was 0-10 to 0-8 at the break.

On the resumption, Ballinora went four clear with points from the impressive Alan O’Shea and Darragh Holmes. Ballinora threatened to cut loose but some great defending from Noel Galvin denied them goal chances.

Ballinora were frustrated by a few wides before Alan O’Shea gave them a four-point lead. But Ballincollig stormed back with a second point from Sean O'Donoghue and a monster effort from the powerful Jordan Murray which left two points between the sides. 

Ballincollig were then denied a goal by some excellent defending before Kevin Murphy slipped inside the cover to raise the matchwinning green flag.

Ballinora will meet Inniscarra in the final after they defeated Kilmichael 2-18 to 0-17 in the other semi-final.

Two goals from Dan O’Connell went along way to deciding this game.

Scorers for Ballinora: A O’Shea 0-6 (0-3 f, 0-1 65) T Burns 0-4, D Holmes 0-5 (0-1 f), K Murphy 1-0, D Corkery, C Quirke 0-1 each.

Ballincollig: S Wills 0-9 (0-3 f), Jordan Murray, S O'Donoghue 0-2 each, S Murphy, J O’Leary 0-1 each.

BALLINORA: D Howard; D Fitton, C Brosnan, B Hourihan; M Lordan, J Lordan, C Quirke; A O’Shea, B Murphy; N Lordan, P Fitton, D Corkery; K Murphy, D Holmes, T Burns.

Subs: T Forde for B Hourihan (40), J Keohane for D Holmes (50), J Twohig for P Fitton.

BALLINCOLLIG: R Cambridge; C Twomey, N Galvin, J Cotter; B Cotter, C Kinsella, J Murray; S Wills, S O’Neill; S O'Donoghue, J O’Leary, A Wills; M Oldham, J Murray, S Murphy.

Subs: C O’Donovan for J Murray (h-t), D Collins for A Wills (50).

Referee: B Barry Murphy (Aghabullogue)

More in this section

Sponsored Content