Charleville and Buttevant are through to the Avondhu junior football decider

Charleville and Buttevant are through to the Avondhu junior football decider

Former Cork minor footballer Seamus Madigan was in form for Buttevant at the weekend. Picture: Diarmuid Greene/SPORTSFILE

Charleville 1-9 Kilworth 0-11

AN EARLY goal by Mark Kavanagh, after neat approach work by Conor Buckley and Tim Hawe, was the key score in the Avondhu JAFC semi-final at Kildorrery on Saturday evening.

The winners entered this game as firm favourites and were sharp early on, with Jack Callaghan going close to a second goal Kilworth were well in the game at half-time, 1-5 to 0-6, but were reduced to 14 players on the restart.

Still, they battled on as Will Condon and Brian Sheehan pointed frees and levelled: 1-7 to 0-10.

Another Sheehan free nudged Kilworth ahead but Charleville regrouped.

Good play by Jack Callaghan secured an equalising point by Darren Butler before Danny Flynn worked well for Tim Hawe who edged them ahead.

Kilworth tried very hard to force extra time. However, in a tense last five minutes, it was Charleville who held out for a close win and a place in the final.

Scorers for Charleville: M Kavanagh 1-1, D Butler 0-3, J Callaghan 0-2f. J Meade 0-1, T Hawe 0-1, J O'Brien 0-1.

Kilworth: B Sheehan 0-6 (0-5f) W Condon 0-2 (0-1f) N Byrne 0-1 '45, L Whelan 0-1, E Carey 0-1.

CHARLEVILLE: J Smith; A Barrett, M O'Flynn, J Kennedy; S Gleeson, J Meade, B O'Connell; T Hawe, J Barry, M Kavanagh; C Buckley, J Callaghan; J O'Brien, D Butler, S Buckley.

Sub: D O'Flynn for C Buckley, KILWORTH: J Sheehan; D O'Regan, T Twomey, K Twomey; M O'Callaghan, D Twomey, P Moakley; N Byrne, A O'Hara; J McCarthy, L Whelan, E McGrath; B Sheehan, W Condon, L Coffey. Subs: E Carey for N Byrne (bs), E Carey for K Twomey, N McNamara for D O'Regan.

Referee: Colm Maher (Buttevant).

Buttevant 2-14 Ballyclough 0-12:

FIRM favourites Buttevant were pushed for 45 minutes in this JAFC semi-final at Churchtown before driving for home.

At the break, the winners held a 0-7 to 0-6 lead, though former Cork footballer Colm O’Neill was clinical for frees.

The first goal arrived when the impressive Gavin Carey worked well for the excellent Mark Lenahan who soloed through and opened up a1-9 to 0-7 advantage.

Seamus Madigan came on for Buttevant and scored 1-2, which was enough to see off Ballyclough.

Scorers for Buttevant: M Lenahan 1-5 (0-1 f), Seamus Madigan 1-2, M O'Neill 0-4 (0-2 f), R Fowley 0-2, A O'Neill 0-1.

Ballyclough: C O'Neill 0-4 f, Aaron Finnegan 0-4 (0-3 f), D Buckley 0-3, Adam Finnegan 0-1.

BUTTEVANT: D Doody; T O'Sullivan, M Broe, M Walsh; K Crowley, Sean Madigan, J Whelan; A O'Neill, T Healy; G Carey, K Lenahan, M O'Neill; M Lenahan, D O'Keeffe, R Fowley.

Subs: J O'Neill for D O'Keeffe, Seamus Madigan for K Lenahan, B O'Connor for K Crowley, J O'Riordan for Sean Madigan, N Crowley for T Healy.

BALLYCLOUGH: C O'Neill; P Carroll, S Walsh, M Buckley; J O'Mahony, E Kelleher, S Buckley; A Finnegan, B Morrissey; D O'Sullivan-McCarthy, D Buckley, D Finnegan; A Finnegan, T Healy, R Buckley.

Subs: T Corkery for T Healy (inj) B McDermott for S Walsh, S Curtin for S Buckley, M Hayes for R Buckley.

Referee: Dave Farrell (Mitchelstown).

More in this section

Sponsored Content