St Vincent's camogie game with Tracton called off as Cork star taken to hospital

St Vincent's camogie game with Tracton called off as Cork star taken to hospital
St Vincent's and Cork camogie ace Amy O'Connor got injured late on in her club's game with Tracton. Picture: INPHO/Dan Sheridan

THERE was widespread concern as news circulated on Saturday that St Vincent's and Cork star Amy O’Connor received a worrying injury during her club's junior A championship match against Tracton in Castle Road. 

According to St Vincent's stalwart Michelle Gould by Saturday evening, Amy was ok but was being kept in overnight for observation in hospital. 

At this stage, there is no suggestion that she will miss Cork's senior camogie campaign which starts in October.

The club was sending their best-known hurler their wishes in what was a concerning time for all involved.

There was a lot of tension when the game was abandoned. Tracton were four points ahead nine minutes into injury time, 2-8 to 0-10 when the star forward received the knock which grounded her and left her vision blurred and there was immediate anxiety around her safety. 

The correct thing to do is not to move a player when there is a head or neck concern.

Speaking with referee Cathal McAllister on Saturday evening two and a half minutes of that nine-minute additional time was for the second half water break which we all know drags on from what it should actually be. 

In addition, the second-half stoppages for injuries in this game were above the norm, justifying the extra minutes.

Tracton were defending when O'Connor got injured. They had possession. 

Had play resumed Tracton would have been awarded an indirect free and with it the final whistle would have been blown. 

But the play had to stop. Immediately the referee is alerted to a potential head injury play must stop.

The camogie ruling is that if the injury to a player cannot be dealt with in 15 minutes the game must be abandoned. 

While the ambulance service was quick to arrive at the scene once called, the 15 minutes expired and Cathal McAllister had no option but to abandon the game. 

Regardless of the fact that the game was almost over, the referee was following the rules.

So you would feel sorry for Tracton but the right course of action was taken to ensure that Amy O'Connor received the best possible care. 

It looks like she’s going to be fine and we’re grateful for that. 

Hopefully, we’ll see her back on the field shortly.

The county board will have to decide what happens next in terms of the match itself.

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more