Kanturk minor hurlers' haul of 5-19 fires them through to Premier 2 final

Kanturk minor hurlers' haul of 5-19 fires them through to Premier 2 final

Former Cork minor hurler Colin Walsh has been in lethal form for Kanturk in the P2 championship. Picture: INPHO/James Crombie

Kanturk 5-19 Kiltha Óg 4-14

KANTURK will contest the Premier 2 Minor Hurling final this year after seeing off last year’s winners Kiltha Óg at Mourneabbey.

On a perfect night for hurling the Duhallow lads impressed from start to finish to set up a decider against St Colman’s.

Brilliant performances by the likes of Tommy Walsh (centre-back), Colin Walsh (centre-forward) and Alan Walsh (full-forward) led the way for the winners however the stand out man in a cast of talented young players had to the midfield general Brian O’Sullivan.

The industrious number eight was everywhere in this game with superb skills to match his accuracy and drive throughout. Can’t ignore the effort of Colin Walsh either with a massive 4-3 – all from play. For the vanquished side, Jack Leahy at corner-forward was the main threat with centre-back Ciarán Joyce, to the tune of 2-9 between them, and left full-forward Andrew Kelly also making a significant difference.

Right from the off Kanturk showed their intent with a goal inside 10 seconds from Colin Walsh.

Points from Kelly and Leahy brought Kiltha Óg back on side however another goal, this time from Alan Walsh again pushed Kanturk clear as the game settled down to some akin to a shootout.

Kanturk held sway to the break with a selection of super scores and led at the major break by 2-10 to 0-7.

Credit to the 2019 champions they never gave up and came out fighting after the interval with five of the first six points — Kelly and Leahy doing really well.

Colin Walsh goaled again to rock the East Cork side but with the same player bagging another brace of goals in the last 15 minutes to bring his tally to 4-3 this one looked over but Kiltha Óg were not going away and with goals from James Ahern, Ciarán Joyce and Leahy this one was back in the melting pot.

There as to be no fairy-tale comeback however as Kanturk ran out deserved winners on the night.

Scorers for Kanturk: C Walsh 4-3; A Walsh 1-4 (0-1 sl), B O’Sullivan 0-7 (0-3 f), R Sheahan 0-4; T Walsh 0-1.

Kiltha Óg: J Leahy 2-7 (0-4 f); C Joyce 1-2 (1-1 f); J Ahern 1-0; A Kelly 0-3; N McGrath, B Napier 0-1 each.

KANTURK: G Buckinskas; C Sullivan, E Hayes, S Hopkins; E McAuliffe, T Walsh, S Moylan; B O’Sullivan, O O’Connor; D Grey, C Walsh, C Sheehan; B Healy, A Walsh, R Sheahan.

Subs: D O’Connor for B Healy (35), A Thornton for S Moylan (52).

KILTHA ÓG: D Joyce; B Napier, S Rohan, C Padden; Z McAuliffe, C Joyce, S O’Riordan; J Ahern, D Leahy; S Coughlan, J Ahern, M O’Dwyer; J Leahy, N McGrath, A Kelly.

Referee: C Egan, (Glen Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more