Mayfield make it through to IAHC quarter-final with win over Argideen

Mayfield make it through to IAHC quarter-final with win over Argideen
Mayfield hurler Nicky Kelly. Picture Dan Linehan

Mayfield 0-22

Argideen Rangers 1-17

MAYFIELD have qualified for the quarter-final of the Co-Op Superstores Intermediate A Hurling Championship where they will face Aghabullogue after a narrow win at Brinny in an exciting contest.

Argideen must now play a Round Robin series with Meelin and Glen Rovers to decide which side will be relegated but on this performance the Timoleague side will be confident they can survive.

It was Mayfield who were quick out of the traps racing into a three point lead in as many minutes as Shane O’Donovan, Shane Duggan and Nicky Kelly found the target.

Nicky Kelly who returned to the starting line-up after injury had to be replaced at half time with a recurrence of his injury.

By the water break Mayfield were two points ahead 0-7 to 0-5.

Than Argideen took control as two points from Bill Fleming and one by Darragh O’Donovan tied the scores with five minutes of the opening half remaining.

A 65 from David O’Neill restored Mayfield’s lead but Argideen finished the half the stronger with two points from Sean Maxwell and one each from Paudie Butler and Eoin Lawton gave them a 0-12 to 0-9 interval lead.

Mattie Lawton extended Argideen’s lead with a point but sensing a shock upset Mayfield hit four points without reply to level matters.

Argideen rocked the city side when Eoin Lawton setup Brian Hennessy for a goal.

By the end of the third quarter Mayfield hit five unanswered points to lead 0-19 to 1-14 with Patrick Duggan (2), O’Donovan, O’Neill and Dan Lucey all pointing and it could have been more only for the Argideen net minder Dylan Harrington bringing off some crucial saves.

In a tight finish Argideen went in search of a goal but Mayfield’s defence held firm.

Scorers: Mayfield: D O’Neill 0-6 (0-1 65, 0-3f), S O’Donovan 0-4, D Lucey 0-3, K Punch 0-3, P Duggan 0-2, S Duggan 0-2, N Kelly, D Malone 0-1 each.

Argideen Rangers: JM O’Callaghan 0-7 (0-6f), B Hennessey 1-1, S Maxwell 0-3, B Fleming 0-2, D O’Donovan, M Lawton, P Butler, E Lawton 0-1 each.

Mayfield: D Wyse; S Crowley, I Looney, P Condon; G Lehane, R Lynch, D O’Gorman; K Punch, D O’Neill; S O’Donovan, D Malone, N Kelly; P Duggan, S Kelly, S Duggan.

Subs: D Lucey for S Kelly (ht inj), J Curtin for S Kelly, D Hayes for Crowley (both 46), S Keegan for Duggan (60).

Argideen Rangers: D Harrington; D Hurley, J Murphy, D Holland; P Butler, C Smith, G Crowley; C O’Donovan, S Maxwell; M Lawton, JM O’Callaghan, B Fleming; D O’Donovan, B Fleming, E Lawton.

Subs: C O’Brien for Crowley (46), E Holland for Hennessey.

Referee: F O Murchu (Valley Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more