Tarrant and Bradley fire Aghabullogue into the IHC quarter-finals

Tarrant and Bradley fire Aghabullogue into the IHC quarter-finals
Denis Quinlan and Sean O'Connell for Aghabullogue chasing Midleton's Ian Kennefick. Picture: Denis Boyle

Aghabullogue 0-21 Midleton 1-15 

IT was another good day at the office for Aghabullogue in the 2020 IAHC after this well-earned win over Midleton on Sunday afternoon.

This has been a very busy time for the players of Aghabullogue, with many of them set to line out for the Coachford club’s intermediate footballers next weekend against Glanmire.

But the second string of Midleton were then to settle well into the contest. Aaron Mulcahy slotted over some well taken early efforts from frees, while Paul Connaughton also converted with a cooly taken effort from play.

Tarrant responded with a free for Aghabullogue, that was before Midleton struck for the back of the net after 20 minutes played.

A quickly worked passing move set away Connaughton away on his bike, before finishing well to the bottom corner.

The response from the Muskerry side was to be a positive one, as they were to get seven out of the final eight scores of the opening half.

Tarrant added to his tally, while Paul Ring got a good point from distance and John Buckley tapped one over from close range.

A fine Matthew Bradley effort, along with a further score from Tarrant, saw the sides level at half time, at Aghabullogue’s 0-9 to the 1-6 of Midleton.

Aghabullogue came out a more determined outfit after the break. Bradley got a well-taken effort, while Tarrant was proving to be totally accurate from frees, while Luke Casey also took his point well.

A fine solo performance from Mulcahy was keeping Midleton right in this contest, as he was proving to be faultless from free balls.

Despite being put under pressure right up until the end, Aghabullogue were to eventually seal the deal in the latter stages.

Bradley displayed further fine point taking, while Dano Dineen put the finishing touches on what was a fine individual run from play.

Aghabullogue will be a tough nut for anyone to crack in the latter stages of this competition.

Scorers for Aghabullogue: S Tarrant (0-9 f) 0-10, M Bradley 0-4, D Dineen 0-2, P Ring, S Feury, J Buckley, B Casey, L Casey 0-1 each.

Midleton: A Mulcahy(0-12 f) 0-13 , P Connaughton 1-1, A Daly 0-1.

AGHABULLOGUE: F Foley; C Feury, A Barry-Murphy, D Quinlan; M Dennehy, N Barry-Murphy, S O’Connell; S Feury, P Ring; B Casey, M Bradley, S Tarrant; J Buckley, P Twomey, E O’Sullivan.

Subs: D Dineen for O’Sullivan (HT), L Casey for Twomey (38), S O’Sullivan for Feury (45).

MIDLETON: A Power; C O’Brien, C Murphy, C Gunning; A Daly, L Dineen, E Mitchell; K Finn, P O’Brien; P Haughney, I Kennefick, A Mulcahy; C Crowley, R O’Regan, P Connaughton.

Sub: M Abernethy for Finn (40).

Referee: Cormac Dineen (Douglas).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more