Orla Cronin leads the way for Enniskeane as they finally land intermediate crown

Orla Cronin leads the way for Enniskeane as they finally land intermediate crown

Enniskeane players celebrate their victory against Aghabullogue in the SE Systems Cork Intermediate Camogie Championship final at Castle Road. Picture Denis Minihane.

Enniskeane 1-16 Aghabullogue 2-8

ENNISKEANE put the heartache of losing last year’s intermediate camogie final behind them as they finally buried the hoodoo and were crowned champions on Sunday afternoon.

AghAbullogue made the better start in this SE Systems Intermediate championship final at a sun-drenched Castle Road.

Two points on the trot from Aoife Twomey and a Cliona Healy pointed free had them settle into the momentum of the game before Orla Cronin had Enniskeane’s opening score, pointing a free on thirteen minutes.

Daire O’Brien had the sides tied up on seventeen minutes after good work from Tara Sheehan and at the first water break, it was 0-2 apiece.

Enniskeane did have a sniff of an opening goal on ten minutes but Miriam Cotter beat Orla Coughlan to a superbly delivered ball and cleared to safety.

On the restart, Aghabullogue had to absorb a lot of Enniskeane pressure and an Eimear O’Brien point in the 17th minute gave Enniskeane the lead for the first time in the game.

Orla Cronin stretched it to two points as the Aghabullogue defense continued to soak up a lot of pressure.

With Laura Mannix Tara Sheehan and Daire O’Brien doing huge work for Enniskeane they won vital possession.

They constantly found Orla Cronin with some good passes and the Cork senior star duly punished an over-worked Aghabullogue defense as she stretched their lead to three points before converting a close in free to make it a four-point gap.

They continued to enjoy the better of the second quarter's exchanges and at the interval, Enniskeane led 0-7 to 0-2.

On the resumption, Enniskeane kept the pressure on the Aghabullogue defence Orla Cronin pointed a free.

Aghabullogue replied with a Cliona Healy pointed free but Enniskeane continued to hold the upper hand as they hit the next five scores.

Orla Cronin pointed a free before she set up Snead Hurley for an Enniskeane goal on 37 minutes.

Leading the way Orla Cronin hit three without reply and as Aghabullogue battled to get into the contest Julie Tarrant and Maebh Ring hit points but still, Enniskeane were in control.

Orla Cronin continued to cause problems for the Aghabullogue defence with two points in-a-row but Aghabullogue lifted their game and a Cliona Healy point set the on the road for a fightback.

Winning a penalty they won’t for goal but were denied by an alert Enniskeane defense but they continued to press and goals from Ella Foley and Cliona Healy on 61 minutes led to a nervous closing minute for Enniskeane.

Yet with Cronin leading the way they thwarted the Aghabullogue rally with Cronin points to ensure the title was going West and Enniskeane with now compete at the top table in 2021.

Aghabullogue will be disappointed at losing out but they will learn a lot from their campaign as did Enniskeane who have battled so hard over a number of years to take this title.

Orla Cronin was named The Echo Player of the Match after leading the way for her club with a superb display as she notched up 13 points of their tally.

Enniskeane captain Kate McCarthy lifting the Nano Nagle Cup. Picture: Denis Minihane.
Enniskeane captain Kate McCarthy lifting the Nano Nagle Cup. Picture: Denis Minihane.

Scorers for Enniskeane: O Cronin 0-13 ( 0-6 f) S Hurley 1-0, D O’Brien, E O’Brien, T Sheehan 0-1 each.

Aghabullogue: C Healy 1-5 (0-3 f), E Foley 1-0, J Tarrant, M Ring, A Twomey 0-1 each.

ENNISKEANE: K Corcoran; K Scannell, D Carroll, C Nyhan; A O’Driscoll, E O’Driscoll; L Duggan; L Mannix, D O’Brien; S O’Driscoll, O Cronin, E O’Brien; S Hurley, O Coughlan, T Sheehan.

Subs: D Browne for S O’Driscoll (17), K McCarthy for K Scannell (60), L Corcoran for E O’Brien (60), C O’Donovan for S Hurley (60).

AGHABULLOGUE: L Cooney; C O’Connell, M Cotter, E O’Shea; E Flanagan, M Ring, K McCarthy; E Foley, B Cotter; A Twomey, C McCarthy, J Crowley; J Tarrant, C Healy, N Barry-Murphy.

Sub: R Martin for N Barry-Murphy (42).

Referee: Cathal Egan ( Glen Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content