East Cork junior hurling: Carraig na bFear forced to dig deep to beat Cobh

East Cork junior hurling: Carraig na bFear forced to dig deep to beat Cobh

Paul Sheehan of Carraig na bhFear races past Ballinascarthy's Eoin O'Brien, during their JAHC semi-final at Ovens last season. Picture: David Keane.

Carraig na bhFear 3-15 Cobh 1-18

CARRAIG na bhFear are through to the East Cork Oil JAHC final for the second year in a row, but they were put to the pin of their collar by a young and tenacious Cobh side.

It was Cobh who started brilliantly with a goal after just two minutes, scored by Aidan O’Rourke, to give the Islanders the perfect start.

A stunned Carrig had to defend for their lives in the opening 10 minutes as the Cobh wides mounted up, but Nathan O’Connell and Dylan Higgins were on target with two points.

It took 12 minutes for Carraig to register a score from James Forde and then last year’s runners-up started to settle with Paul Sheehan and Oisin Crowley scoring to leave two points between the sides at the water break.

The re-start saw Carrig race into action with two goals in two minutes from Paul Murphy and David Sweeney and as the sides exchanged points favourites Carrig led by two at the short whistle.

Carraig na bhFear were on fire in the third quarter with a goal from Brendan Murphy, five unanswered points from play and led by eight points.

Game over you would think, but Cobh never gave up and point by point they reduced the margin until they were level on the 60th minute with a Kevin Murphy point from play.

It looked for all the world the match was destined to go to extra-time but Carraig na bhFear’s king of calm Tim Geaney pointed two monster frees and a free from Paul Murphy was enough to see Carraig over the line.

Scorers for Carraig na bhFear: P Murphy 1-1, B Murphy and D Sweeney 1-0 each, O Crowley 0-3 f, Tim Geaney 0-3 (0-2 f), John Forde, P Sheehan 0-2 each, A Dorgan, P Geaney, James Forde 0-1 each/ 

Cobh: D Kearney 0-9 (0-8 f, 0-1 65), N O’Connell 0-5, A O’Rourke 1-0, K Murphy, D Higgins, C Spriggs, A McCarthy 0-1 each.

CARRAIG NA BHFEAR: B Casey; T Sheehan, D O’Driscoll. D Coleman; J Forde, T Geaney, P Geaney; A Dorgan, M Aherne; P Sheehan, D Sweeney, P Murphy (c); O Crowley, B Sheehan, B Murphy.

Subs: J Forde for B Sheehan (39), T O’Donoghue for M Aherne (49), R Spillane for O Crowley (53), M Hickey for J Forde (54). 

COBH: E Walsh; S Hillard, C McLoughlin, J Flanagan; P Kearney, C Spriggs, G Keating; J McCarthy, C Leahy; A O’Rourke, N O’Connell, D Kearney; D Heelan, D Higgins, A McCarthy (c).

Subs: K Murphy for G Keating (41), A Walley for J Flanagan (43), O Kidney for D Heelan (51).

Referee: Arthur Murphy (Killeagh).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more