Newtown and Castlelyons claim Cork camogie titles at Castle Road

Newtown and Castlelyons claim Cork camogie titles at Castle Road

Niamh Barry, captain of Castlelyons., shows her delight as her side are crowned SE Systems Junior B camogie champions.

Newtownshandrum 3-17 Tracton 1-6

A SUPERB display saw Newtownshandrum claim the SE Systems Junior A championship crown as they overcome the challenge of Tracton.

Newtownshandrum started well opened up a 0-6 to 0-1 lead but it was in the second half that they really showed their class as they picked off vital scores with huge confidence to run out winners.

Jennifer Lynch pointed and early Tracton free but with Cliona O’Callaghan pointing two 45s Newtownshandrum took the lead.

Mariah Reidy added a point from play as the Newtownshandrum attack found space and they continued to put the Tracton defence under pressure as they added to their tally with Reidy and O’Callaghan on target.

Lauren Murphy and Jennifer Lynch narrowed the gap with Tracton points and with two between the sides it looked like Tracton were getting a grip but just before the half time whistle, they were dealt a blow when the excellent Cliona O’Callaghan grabbed the first goal of the game and at the interval Newtownshandrum led by five points 1-6 to 0-4.

On the resumption, Newtownshandrum upped the ante with a Rosin Twohill point and five in row from Cliona O’Callaghan, Jennifer Lynch converted a 45 to narrow the gap but Newtownshandrum responded Cliona O’Callaghan finishing to the net for her second goal.

Three points in a row before a Katie Coughlan goal on 50 minutes had them 19 points clear before Emma Good grabbed Tracton goal. Cliona O’Callaghan and Mariah Reidy sealed a great day for Newtownshandrum before Jennifer Lynch had the final say with a pointed Tracton free.

Scorers for Newtownshandrum: C O’Callaghan 2-11, K Coughlan 1-1, M Reidy 0-3, S Moloney, R Twohill 0-1 each.

Tracton: J Lynch 0-5 f, E Good 1-0, L Murphy 0-1.

NEWTOWN: C Griffin; C Herlihy, E Reidy, G Sheehy; B O’ Neill, R Sheehy, A Walmsley; C Collins, D Cagney; A Twohill, C O’Callaghan, R Twohill; K Coughlan; M Reidy, S Moloney.

Subs: S Treacy for K Coughlan, S O’ Donnell for S Moloney, R Ryan for C Collins, A Doyle for C Herlihy, M Noonan for A Walmsley.

TRACTON: J Dempsey; K McCarthy, C Castleton, N Mullane; J McLaughlin, A Fahy, J Kiely; K Walsh, A Bell; A Rice, E Good, J Lynch; L Murphy, M Mc Guinness, A Kiely.

Subs: G Mc Guinness for A Rice, O Dempsey for A Bell, S Sinclair for A Fahy.

Referee: William Wallace (Aghada).

Castlelyons 2-14 Inniscarra 1-5

Castlelyons atoned for last season final defeat as they overcame Inniscarra to take the SE Systems junior B championship title with a superb display from Leah Hallihan earning her The Echo player of the match award.

Leading 2-9 to 0-5 at the interval but they had to withstand a lot of second-half Inniscarra pressure before securing the title.

First-half goals from Jessie O’Leary and Grainne McCarthy plus points from Ava and Leah Hallihan, Sarah Morrison and Jessie O’Leary saw them take the game to Inniscarra who had Caoimhe Buckley on target with all their first-half points.

Inniscarra grabbed a goal on the restart with Caoimhe O’Shea finishing well but Castlelyons sensing an Inniscarra revival dug deep with Grainne McCarthy, Ava and Leah Hallihan and Lucy McNulty on target as they finished in style to be crowned champions.

Scorers for Castlelyons: L Hallihan 0-6, J O’Leary 1-2, G McCarthy 1-1 (0-1 f), A Hallihan 0-3, S Morrison, L McNulty 0-1 each.

Inniscarra: C Buckley 0-5 f, C O’Shea 1-0.

CASTLELYONS: Z Power; A Ní Mhaoilain Ní Chattrain, N Barry, C McCarthy; C O’Flynn, M O’Sullivan, S Morrison; L McNulty, A Hallihan; A O’Sullivan, N McCarthy, L Hallihan; A Beirne, G McCarthy, J O'Leary.

Subs: B Shanahan for A O'Sullivan, I Fenton for A Beirne, A Greaney for G Mc McCarthy, K O’Riordan for J O’Leary, O Sheehan for A Ní Mhaoilain Ní Chattrain.

INNISCARRA: J Sullivan; M Lyons, K Lordan, E Lyons; A Dineen, M O’Leary, R Murtagh; L Desmond, K Buckley; A McCarthy; S O’Callaghan, C Buckley; Á O’Connor, E Gallery, N Byrne.

Subs: A Condon for E Lyons, A Quigley for K Buckley, C O’Shea for E Gallery, A Power for S O’Callaghan, A Harty for C Buckley.

Referee: Dave O’ Connell (Glen Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

People holding phone with App

It's all about Cork!

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

It's all about Cork!

App Store LogoGoogle Play Logo
The Echo - Women in Sport Awards - Logo



Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Contact Us Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

© Evening Echo Ltd, Linn Dubh, Assumption Road, Blackpool, Cork. Registered in Ireland: 523713

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more