Camogie glory for Ballinora and Midleton U14 after impressive displays

Camogie glory for Ballinora and Midleton U14 after impressive displays

The Ballinora camogie team that were recently crowned U14 Premier Plate winners.

Ballinora 1-11 Clonakilty 1-6 

BALLINORA captured the U14 Premier Plate in a tight contest with Clonakilty in Brinny recently when a late goal from Jane Larkin, along with the accuracy of Louise O'Neill and Rachel Murphy, and Tara O'Donoghue and Amy O'Riordan's defensive strength, was crucial.

Ballinora hit the front with a Larkin point and captain Louise O’Neill added a second point before Clonakilty opened their account with a pointed free.

The sides were evenly matched with both defences under pressure and they swapped scores so Ballinora maintained their one point advantage at the first water break: 0-3 to 0-2.

Rachel Murphy extended the Ballinora advantage with a point from a long range free and with O’Neill and Murphy on target from frees, the Mid Cork outfit went four points clear. 

Clonakilty cut the gap to two points with good play from Amy McCarthy, Grace Hourihane and Sinead Crowley but Ballinora finished the half impressively. 

With Rachel Murphy adding three points without reply, it left Ballinora ahead at the break 0-9 to 0-4.

Clonakilty showed huge determination on the restart and a Lauren Eady goal cut the Ballinora led to two. 

As they piled on the pressure Ballinora had to be at their very best defensively, while keeper Tara O’Donoghue denied them with two excellent saves. 

Amy O’Riordan was a tower of strength in the centre-back position, so at the second water break Ballinora still held a two-point lead.

The impressive Larkin and O'Neill struck for vital Ballinora scores with the game on the line. 

Sinead Crowley found the range for Clonakilty but the next score proved to be decisive. 

As the clock ticked towards full time, Larkin struck for a goal after good work from Julia Mehigan to seal the result in Ballinora’s favour after a superb contest from two committed sides.

Scorers for Ballinora: R Murphy 0-5 (0-2 f), J Larkin 1-2, L O’Neill 0-4 (0-1 f).

Clonakilty: S Crowley 0-3, L Eady 1-0, A McCarthy 0-2, G Hourihane 0-1.

BALLINORA: T O’Donohoe; E O’Flynn, E O’Driscoll; M Twomey, L Twohig, A O’Riordan; S Werner, C Quirke; E McAuliffe, C Ahern, R Murphy, E Laverty, C Twomey, L O’ Neill, J Larkin.

Subs: J Mehigan for S Werner (h0t), A Conway for C Twomey (45).

CLONAKILTY: A Giles; C McCarthy, D Geaney, M Murphy; A O’Gorman, Clodagh McCarthy, A Oldham; C Barrett, A McCarthy; N Coffey, S Crowley, G Hourihane; L Eady, L Daly, E O'Sullivan.

Subs: S O'Mahony for A Oldham, A Korinek for N Coffey.

The Midleton U14 camogie team that won the plate recently.
The Midleton U14 camogie team that won the plate recently.

Midleton 6-5 Ballinhassig 1-0 

MIDLETON proved too strong for a gallant Ballinhassig as they took the U14 A plate recently in Castle Road, with Rachel Ryan grabbing a hat-trick.

Playing with the wind advantage in the opening half, Midleton built up a 10-point lead by half time.

Goals from Kate O’Sullivan and Cara Foley helped them build a strong foundation for victory.

All through the second half Ballinhassig worked hard and Aoife Cottrell grabbed a goal but unfortunately for them the scores they needed did not arrive. That was in the main down to an excellent Midleton defence who stood firm under severe pressure. 

Piling on the pressure Midleton added to their tally with three Rachel Ryan goals and one from Saoirse Ní Theangana ensuring they ran out comfortable winners.  

Scorers for Midleton: R Ryan 3-1, S Ní Theangana, 1-3, K O’Sullivan 1-1, C Foley 1-0.

Ballinhassig: A Cottrell 1-0.

MIDLETON: S Walsh; A Magann, J Fitzgerald, K Saunderson; P Hennessey, L Goulding, S Cronin, M Ní Conchubhuair, I Nestor (c), K O’ Sullivan, S Ní Theangana, K Quirke, M Collins, R Ryan, C Foley.

Subs: T Wallace for C Foley, R Greene for M Collins, A McCarthy for A Magann, E O'Neill for K O'Sullivan.

BALLINHASSIG: S Whyte; E Madden, M O’Rourke, T O’Farrell; A Cussen, M O’Sullivan, S Deasy; C Crowley, A Cottrell; K Moynihan, F O’Brien, E Casey; A Lynch, A Lombard, K Reynolds.

Subs: A Lucey for E Madden, K O’Leary for K Reynolds, L McDonogh for T O’Farrell, S Connolly for E Casey, E O’Sullivan for K Moynihan.

More in this section

Sponsored Content