portal_normal PUBLICATION STRUCTURE cat: /publications/ee-echo/sport


portal_normal STRUCTURE section: corksport

portal_normal getURLCurrent: /web/eveningecho/corksport/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=107fa202-b525-4c4e-9244-a884b506f94e

portal_normal getPortalURL getURLCurrent: http://www.echolive.ie./web/eveningecho/corksport/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=107fa202-b525-4c4e-9244-a884b506f94e

portal_normal getPortalURL: http://www.echolive.ie

portal_normal domain: http://www.echolive.ie

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - url: /corksport/Hurling-joy-for-Patrician-Academy-to-add-to-their-football-success-107fa202-b525-4c4e-9244-a884b506f94e-ds

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - section: corksport

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - orgcat: orgcat = /PUBLICATIONS/EE-ECHO/SPORT

Patrician Academy players celebrating. Picture: Denis Minihane.
Patrician Academy players celebrating. Picture: Denis Minihane.

Hurling joy for Patrician Academy to add to their football success

Patrician Academy 3-10 Coláiste an Phiarsaigh 1-15

PATRICIAN Academy edged a thoroughly enjoyable Cork PPS Senior B hurling final at the 4G pitch in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

It has been a stellar season so far for the Mallow school in both hurling and football. Barry O’Shea’s 10th-minute goal put them 1-3 to 0-1 up, however Cathal MacCárthaigh replied with a goal and with Cathal Ó Leannacháin excellent from frees, Coláiste an Phiarsaigh were 1-8 to 1-6 to the good at the break.

Two second-half goals from Conor McMahon went a long way towards separating these evenly-matched teams.

Eanna O'Hanlon winning a high ball from Eoin Ó Mathúna. Picture: Denis Minihane.
Eanna O'Hanlon winning a high ball from Eoin Ó Mathúna. Picture: Denis Minihane.

When Evan Ó Rothláin pointed straight from the restart, Academy were three down. McMahon’s ground strike a minute later tied proceedings.

Tomás Ó Lonergáin and David Walsh swapped points before the Glanmire side stretched the lead to two. Charlie Carroll’s second point narrowed the gap again — ensuring a frenetic scramble in the final 10 minutes.

The dynamics changed once more when McMahon — who was shown a straight red card at the end — bagged his second goal, capitalising on a great long delivery from Niall O’Riordan.

Conor McMahon scoring a second-half goal. Picture: Denis Minihane.
Conor McMahon scoring a second-half goal. Picture: Denis Minihane.

Points from MacCárthaigh and Pierce Ó Cuimín brought Coláiste an Phiarsaigh within one, but despite being camped in the Mallow half, they just couldn’t find the equaliser.

Scorers for Patrician Academy: C McMahon 2-0, B O’Shea 1-1, C Carroll (0-1 f) and D Walsh (f) 0-3 each, K Twomey 0-2 f, E O’Hanlon 0-1.

Coláiste an Phiarsaigh: C MacCárthaigh 1-3, C Ó Leannacháin 0-6 (0-3 f), E Ó Rothláin 0-3, T Ó Lonergáin 0-2, P Ó Cuimín 0-1 65. 

PATRICIAN ACADEMY: D Kearney (Kilshannig); B O’Connor (Clyda Rovers), N O’Riordan (Mallow), D Taylor (Kilshannig); O Carroll (Mallow), K Twomey (Kilshannig, Capt), S Kelly (Clyda Rovers); D Walsh (Clyda Rovers), C O’Shea (Kilshannig); C O’Driscoll (Mallow), E O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), S O’Flynn (Mallow); B O’Shea (Kilshannig), C McMahon (Kilshannig), E Kelleher (Mallow).

Subs: F Magner (Killavullen) for D Taylor (25), C Carroll (Mallow) for S O’Flynn (half-time).

COLÁISTE AN PHIARSAIGH: F MacUaid (Mainistir na Corann); P Pléimeann (Kiltha Óg), C Ó Murchú (Mainistir na Corann), D Ó Suilleabháin (Mainistir na Corann); E Ó Mathúna (Rogha Éireann), P Ó Cuimín (Naomh Colmáin), O Ó Duinneacha (Na Sairséalaigh); B Ó Drisceoil (Na Sairséalaigh), Conchur Ó Leannacháin (Rogha Éireann); E Ó Rothláin (Mainistir na Corann), T Ó Lonergáin (Na Sairséalaigh), T Ó Suilleabháin (Mainistir na Corann), Cathal MacCárthaigh (Na Sairséalaigh), Cathal Ó Leannacháin (Rogha Éireann), Colm MacCárthaigh (Na Sairséalaigh).

Subs: C Ó Dughaill (Dúglas) for E Ó Rothláin (47), T Ó Muirthile (An Cóbh) for B Ó Drisceoil (49), S Ó Riordáin (An tAthar Uí Neill) for P Pléimeann (56).

Referee: Simon Stokes (Tullylease).