portal_normal PUBLICATION STRUCTURE cat: /publications/ee-echo/sport


portal_normal STRUCTURE section: corksport

portal_normal getURLCurrent: /web/eveningecho/corksport/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=788872b0-7ed2-476e-9269-a5a1fa966576

portal_normal getPortalURL getURLCurrent: http://www.echolive.ie./web/eveningecho/corksport/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=788872b0-7ed2-476e-9269-a5a1fa966576

portal_normal getPortalURL: http://www.echolive.ie

portal_normal domain: http://www.echolive.ie

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - url: /corksport/Footballers-hand-out-six-debuts-for-league-opener-against-Tipp--788872b0-7ed2-476e-9269-a5a1fa966576-ds

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - section: corksport

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - orgcat: orgcat = /PUBLICATIONS/EE-ECHO/SPORT

Douglas' Kevin Flahive. Picture: Jim Coughlan.
Douglas' Kevin Flahive. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

Footballers hand out six debuts for league opener against Tipp 

CORK introduce half-a-dozen newcomers to senior football for the opening division 2 league game against Tipperary at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, tomorrow, throw-in, 5pm.

They are goalkeeper Mark White (Clonakilty), corner-backs Sam Ryan (St Finbarr’s) and Micheal McSweeney (Newcestown), wing-back Kevin Flahive (Douglas), midfielder Daniel O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers) and corner-forward Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s).

The sextet represented Cork at under-age level and were blooded in the pre-season McGrath Cup, which Cork won after defeating Clare in the final, thanks to a late Sherlock goal.

The team contains just five players from the side, which lost to Mayo in last summer’s qualifying defeat, after extra-time, at the Gaelic Grounds.

They are captain Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s), Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), Mark Collins (Castlehaven), John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) and Sean Powter (Douglas).

Wing-back Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) comes in for his first game of 2018 while his brother, Kevin, Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), Cillian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig) and Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) are on the bench for the first time, too.

Sam Ryan of St Finbarr's. Picture: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
Sam Ryan of St Finbarr's. Picture: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

CORK: M White (Clonakilty); S Ryan (St Finbarr’s), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), M McSweeney (Newcestown); K Flahive (Douglas), K Crowley (Millstreet), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), captain, D O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers); S White (Clonakilty), S Powter (Douglas), R Deane (Bantry Blues); J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), M Collins (Castlehaven), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s). 

Subs: R Price (O’Donovan Rossa), E Lavers (Dohenys), C Dorman (Bishopstown), T Clancy (Fermoy), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), C O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), M Hurley (Castlehaven), C O’Neill (Ballyclough).