THE towers of the Shakey Bridge are to be treated with anti-climbing paint as part of a €1m plan to repair the Cork landmark.
Significant work has gone into plans to restore the bridge, officially known as Daly’s Bridge, to its former glory.
A structural assessment in December of 2016 showed the need for significant repairs and there were warnings that if existing damage was not repaired it could eventually lead to the bridge’s closure.
The Shakey Bridge, first opened in 1927, is the only suspension bridge in Cork city and is seen as one of the iconic landmarks of the city. Councillors this week approved the plan for its repair, which outlines the work to be carried out in some detail.
Key steel elements of the bridge, the latticed deck, will be removed and taken off-site for grit-blasting, repair and painting. Timber decking will be removed and replaced, while the towers will be painted with anti-climbing paint. This is a type of thick oily coating that stays slippery indefinitely, as a deterrent to people who attempt to climb the structure.
New lighting will also be installed and the original ferryboat quay on the south side of the bridge is included in restoration works.