Impressive win for Aghabullogue as they reach first IHC final in 110 years

Impressive win for Aghabullogue as they reach first IHC final in 110 years

Aghabullogue's, Shane Tarrant was a hero for his team in their win over Kildorrery.

Aghabullogue 1-25 

Kildorrery 2-13 

AGHABULLOGUE are through to their first Cork County IHC final since 1910 following their deserved win over Kildorrery in the Co-Op Superstores semi final at Glantane on Sunday. 

From the start the winners were very prominent in the half forward line with Billy Casey, Matthew Bradley and Shane Tarrant in great scoring form accounting for 0-17 between them. 

Dan O'Duinnin opened the scoring with Shane Tarrant following from a free and from play. Peter O'Brien opened Kildorrery's account after 6 minutes. Further pressure by the Mid Cork side had them ahead 0-5 to 0-1 after 9 minutes. 

Peter O'Brien had two frees for the 'Hill'. At the first water break the winners were 0-7 to 0-3 clear. Peter O'Brien followed with a point. The sides were level when James McEniry had a great goal. Bill Casey levelled. At half time Aghabullogue led 0-8 to 1-4.

James Keating levelled from a sideline on the resumption. Kildorrery were unable to get ahead. The winners tagged on a series of points by Dan O Duinnin Matthew Bradley (3) and Bill Casey as they moved 0-14 to 1-7 ahead. Both sides exchanged points with Aghabullogue being well ahead at the second water break 0-20 to 1-8.

Kildorrery battled very hard in the last quarter but a goal by Luke Casey gave Aghabullogue a 12 point lead 1-20 to 1-8. 

Shane Tarrant and Peter O'Brien exchanged pointed frees. By the 56th minute the winners were still 12 points clear 1-22 to 1-10. Kildorrery forced a number of frees. They had a number goal attempts well saved by the winners defence. 

In the 6lst minute good play by Shane O'Neill and James McEniry led to a goal by Eamonn O'Connor 1-22 to 2-11. 

Both sides had late points but there was no denying a well balanced Aghabullogue side their place in the Cork County final against Eire Og.

Scorers for Aghabullogue: S Tarrant 0-8 (0-4f) D O'Duinnin 0-6. M Bradley 0-6, L Casey 1-1, B Casey 0-3, S Furey 0-1.

Kildorrery: P O'Brien 0-10f. J McEniry 1-0, E O'Connor 1-0, J Keating 0-1 s/l, S Fitzgerald 0-1 '65, D Kelly 0-1.

AGHABULLOGUE: F Foley, C Furey, A Barry-Murphy, D Quinlan, P Ring, N Barry-Murphy, S O'Connell, S Furey, M Dennehy, B Casey, M Bradley, S Tarrant, J Buckley, P Twomey, D O' Duinnin. 

Subs: L Casey for J Buckley, N Buckley for P Twomey.

KILDORRERY: I Butler, S Kelly, S Fitzgerald, C O'Baoill, J O'Gorman, M Walsh, W Fouhy, J O'Sullivan, J Keating, J Hunter, P O'Brien, F Stapleton, D Kelly, A O'Brien, J McEniry. 

Subs: D Kent for J Hunter, S O'Neill for A O'Brien, P J Keating for J O'Sullivan, E O'Connor for D Kelly.

Referee: Niall O'Neill (Midleton).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Recruit Ireland



To check out roles from a range of companies 


Saturday, April 17, 2021

  • 18
  • 21
  • 27
  • 29
  • 34
  • 47
  • 46

Full Lotto draw results »